We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beach, Love the Fun O Rama” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Short Sands Beach

Short Sands Beach
York Beach, York, ME
Improve this listing
Activities: Swimming
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A family-oriented beach that includes a playground.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Great Beach, Love the Fun O Rama”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I go to long sands beach regularly to surf but Short Sands was great this summer with the step kids in town. The Fun O Rama is still cheap and seasonal in nature but they loved it. The beach is amazing and they came back toting craps and starfish. It was the highlight of the summer. Also ample parking that takes all change not just quarters!

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    58
    19
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Stoneham
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Short Sands, Clean and Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Since we stay @ the Union Bluff, Short Sands is just a stone's throw away. Although it can get crowded, everyone is friendly and in vacation (laid back) mode. The beach is always clean and, since we usually have a front room with a deck, we can attest to the fact that the sand is groomed each and every day.
One of the best parts of Short Sands is its proximity to food and fun. If a member of your party want something to eat, it's a mere few feet away and the choices are endless. If someone feels like going to the arcade, it is right there.
We love Short Sands and can't wait until next year when we get to vacation there again!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very nice cozy inlet beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

On our first trip to York, we decided to go to Short Sands (versus Long) mainly because of the proximity to everything, but we just ended up spending hours on the beach itself. It was a beautiful late-August weekday that we went, so we didn't have very much traffic or crowd on the beach, even though it was in the mid-eighties. We went around mid-to-low tide, so there was plenty of beach space for people to spread out in, and the kids loved climbing around the rocks along the edges of the inlet that defines the beach. It truly is beautiful here (see the pictures other people posted), and we will definitely be back again.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“We come back every year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

We have spent at least a week here for each of the past 14 summers. The water is cold, but I can't get the kids out. It's great or a family with small kids. If you have teens or don't have kids, you'll probably be happier at Long Sands or somewhere further up (say, Old Orchard Beach or Ogunquit). For a family it is great (though crowded at times).

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Cigarette butts, trash, and crowds”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Short sands is unfortunately a dump as the summer season is now in full. I visit York often and find short sands a great place to go to experience the Maine beach for kids. Within immediate walking distance is a terrible arcade, an even worse bowling alley and mini golf, and plenty of touristy gift shops; but they are all kind of fun in a 50's campy sort of way. My child and her friends enjoy a full day here every year....but we no longer go to the beach. Long Sands is a mile a way and is clean, spacious, and beautiful. Avoid the rude crowds, the sand riddled with hazards, and the lack of parking; get to long sands early, bring a lunch and enjoy the Maine coast.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Short Sands Beach also viewed

 

Been to Short Sands Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Short Sands Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.