We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Long Sands Beach

Long Sands Beach
York Beach, York, ME
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 attractions in York Beach
Type: Beaches
Attraction Details
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

You have to visit this little tourist town. We stummbled on it and was so happy we did. This was one of the highlights of our New England trip. This light house was amazing to see. We got to York when many things had closed for the season, but still, found it beautiful and relaxing to stay. I would love to return to this little town.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    45
    11
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
361 reviews 361 reviews
238 attraction reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
279 helpful votes 279 helpful votes
“An Extraordinary Stretch of Sand in Any Season”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This extraordinary York County beach extends for 1.5 miles (2.4 km) along two-lane Long Beach Avenue. A paved walkway parallels the road. At intervals, stairs descend to the beach. In high season, this gorgeous expanse draws vast thongs to sunbathe, wade, swim, bodysurf, board-surf, collect seashells, and much morel; lifeguards patrol it then. Public restrooms and a bathhouse are on-site. Visitors may rent nearby cottages and motel rooms and forage at eateries on the road’s inland side. Metered parking is available. Ever-photogenic Cape Neddick Lighthouse is nearby. On a crisp springtime midday, most of the beach was deserted – aside from a few diehard board-surfers and dog-walkers. I had a camera at hand. If you visit, in any season, you should do the same!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

If you're looking for a relaxing place to take a walk, this is it. Good sized beach when the tide is low. Smooth interesting looking rocks too. Lots of parking.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Family friendly Ocean Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited this beach a few years ago and found it very beautiful. There were plenty if families and lots of room. I liked that there was little pools of water and plenty of room so the kids had room to play without worrying about them running into the water too quickly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Adams, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Peaceful Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

York Maine is my favorite place to be, the ocean waves, the white sand beach, the dinning out and the shops, all that someone could want for a vacation spot. Off season is the time for us older folks. Nubble Lighthouse is so picturesque in any season, it is beautiful in the winter covered with snow.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Long Sands Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Sands Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Long Sands Beach to your Saves list