We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Harry's Seafood & Grill

Harry's Seafood & Grill
15 Railroad Avenue, York Beach, York, ME 03910
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 17 Restaurants in York Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: casual seafood in York
Restaurant details
Description: casual seafood in York
Newport, NH
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It was OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

I stepped into the place closest to our campsite to buy fried clams and scallops to go with our cookout dinner. I bought a 1/2 pint of full belly clams, 1/2 pint of clam strips, and a 1/2 pint of scallops. The price totaled $47 - yikes! That was a bit on the high side, but I am guessing the location had a lot to do with it.
The 5 minute walk back to the campsite proved to be too much, and the scallops turned soggy. If you plan to grab a 1/2 pint for the beach, you had better think about eating it there. They won't make the walk back to your blanket.
The clams were okay - not a lot of flavor, but they satisfied our craving.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    10
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vineland, New Jersey
1 review
“Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

We went to Harry's Seafood for several meals during our family vacation in York, and every item was amazing. We had fried clams (with bellies) and onion rings (more than once), fried haddock platter with sweet potatoe fries, lobsters rolls, whole lobsters, and even had the best pulled pork sandwich ever!!! The atmosphere was pleasant and the service was timely. We finally discovered a favorite spot to get our annual "taste of Maine" while on vacation in York Beach.
See you next year!!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
1 review
“Awesome food and service!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Ordered take out dinner from there, the steamers were delicious and the onion rings are made to order not frozen! My husband had a fried haddock sandwich, and deemed it excellent. All the appropriate condiments tartar sauce, clam juice, melted butter etc. included. In other words, no item forgotten because it was a takeout order. Now that's attention to detail!!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Totally Awesome Family Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

My husband and I were thriled to find this "family friendly" fabulous restaurant in York Beach, ME. After a day at The Animal Kingdom, we chose Harry's for dinner with a promise to the kids of ice cream afterwards at The Goldenrod. The weather was perfect and we even got a table outside so we could do some people watching. My husband claims he is the expert on fried clams and now has a new No. 1 fave. He said the clams were cooked to perfection and the serving extremely generous but he still managed to eat it all. The kids loved the lobster tanks and each one found it necessary to name the lobster of their choice. Me, I had both the lobster bisque and a lobster roll. The bisque was even better than what I've experienced at other restaurants for far more money. It was obvious that the lobster in the lobster roll was fresh and not frozen. I could tell 'cause that's my favorite food of all time. Loved the split top NE roll and thought the large lobster claw on top of the already jam-packed roll was a great touch. Just enough mayo to keep the meat from falling out, yet not too much to take away from the true lobster flavor. We have visited York Beach for the past 7 years and this was our first trip to Harry's. Already the kids are talking about next year's trip and are doing their best to come up with unusual names for their 2012 lobsters. At this rate, it's going to be a long 12 months!! Folks, don't miss this little jewel in York Beach, ME. MAINE LOBSTER, the way it should be.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Convenient to the beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

Walked over a few times to pick up lunch to bring back to the beach. Three days in a row I asked for th portabello mushroom sandwich, and each day the response was "we just ran out of mushrooms". Really?? Three days in a row?
The lobster bisque is good.
Plenty of restaurants on either side of this one that actually have what's advertised on their menu.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harry's Seafood & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Harry's Seafood & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harry's Seafood & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.