We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Small” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brown's Ice Cream

Brown's Ice Cream
232 Nubble Road, York Beach, York, ME 03909
(207) 363-1277
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in York Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Plainville, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Big Small”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We've been coming to Brown's for years for their delicious hard ice cream. You only need to order a small as you'll be satisfied and won't be able to keep up with the drips on a warm day. Their ice cream flavors like maple walnut, cookie dough, coffee heath are loaded with chunks of walnuts etc. You can't have a visit to the Nubble Lighthouse without stopping by Brown's ice Cream.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    40
    13
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Cool little place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The ice cream was nice, although it melted VERY fast. I had Maine Blueberry and those in my party gave favorable reviews concerning Sea Salt Caramel and Chocolate Oreo. Clever what they've done with the service (you'll see what I mean). It takes a bit of a wait, but like Ted Drewe's in STL, it's part of the atmosphere. They manage your anticipation, allowing you to ponder the many flavors and savor the choice you finally make. Being a resort town, it's also nice to get a chance to talk to vacationers and locals. Strike up a conversation and have a cone :)

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland, Maine
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“YummO!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stopped in for an ice cream on a hot day. I ordered the Sea salt caramel truffle in a cup. It was really good, but mostly vanilla ice cream. I would go back.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A. Area
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Believe the reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We arrived on an unusually rainy August afternoon and were surprised by the dozens of happy customers standing around enjoying their ice cream. They would have been sitting had the tables all not be soaked!
All four of the people I was with raved about their ice cream. Amazingly good, huge portions and worth the calories.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Maine
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Great service and ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

We are locals, but don't get out much due to tourist traffic. We had family visiting from Texas and they wanted ice cream instead of lunch. We discovered they weren't open until noon, but there was a nice man who went out of his way and sold us ice cream, anyway, because of our family saying they came all the way from Texas just to enjoy this ice cream that they hadn't had in so many years. He didn't have to do this, but he went above and beyond. Great ice cream, of course. HUGE servings. Still have the best waffle cones.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Brown's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brown's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.