We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“York ME Lobster roll, a Deal of deals - $8.99” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Road Restaurant & Market

Shore Road Restaurant & Market
10 Shore Rd, York, ME 03909
(207) 363-6533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 102 Restaurants in York
Cuisines: Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“York ME Lobster roll, a Deal of deals - $8.99”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Great deal on the way to beach or anytime, This is just plain a DEAL - $8.99 .for a Lobsta roll... toasted roll, and lobster meat with butter - NO fillers like mayo, celery like many of the others. The lobster is fresh and good portion ..if fact I went for a second one. Glad they are getting the press but not a hidden gem anymore. Just keep up the great lobsta rolls at a great price..

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    22
    2
    4
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Inwood, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lobster rolls can't be beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stopped here after seeing a sign advertising $8.95 lobster rolls. On the recommendation of someone else eating at one of the outdoor picnic tables, we went in and ordered lobster rolls and a shrimp roll for one of our kids. My husband paid extra for double lobster meat and was nice enough to share some of the extra with me. This lobster roll had nothing but a toasted bun and lobster meat and was the best we've eaten. The shrimp roll was stuffed with smaller sized fried shrimp, which our son said was very good. The owners were very friendly. There are tables inside and some seating outside. We weren't staying in York but wished we were because none of the other lobster rolls we had could compare to the one at the Shore Road Market.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Above average take-out; best in York”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011 via mobile

Tried lobster rolls and chowder. Roll was grilled with cold lobster meat and side of drawn butter Best value in area. Chowder was New England style - very thick like at Newport Black Pearl. It had lots of clams and potatoes. We'll be going here again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“The place to go for take out lobster rolls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

All the reviews are dead on. $8.99 for a lobster roll, can't be beat... The lobster is fresh and there is a good portion of it. This isn't a hidden gem anymore. But hopefully they keep doing what they are doing and keep the price under $10.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Awesome lobster rolls and chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Today, me and two friends dropped in around 3 in the afternoon and turns out this place was just closing down for the season. "All we have is lobster rolls and chowder" and I said "AWESOME". The guys who ran the place were great but the food was even better. Lobster roll was stuffed with fresh lobster and was very tasty. The chowder was amazing. There's a great simple blend of herbs mixed in with the lobster and clams that gave it a little something extra that put it over the top.

I'm looking forward to next spring when this place re-opens!! :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shore Road Restaurant & Market also viewed

 

Been to Shore Road Restaurant & Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Road Restaurant & Market, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.