We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was on point!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Restaurant on York Harbor

Dockside Restaurant on York Harbor
22 Harris Island Rd, York, ME 03909
207-363-2722
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dockside Restaurant on York Harbor is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 101 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Contemporary, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 103
Description: The approach to the Dockside Restaurant is all part of the Dockside’s charm. You are treated to views of the York River and the grand “summer cottages” as you turn onto Harris Island Road to reach Dockside Restaurant. The view is quintessential Maine, people hustling up and down the docks, gleaming yachts and colorful lobster boats in front of a rock and pine-tree shore. Dockside’s recent renovation is perfect, warm and comfortable. Hardwood floors, European style lighting floor to ceiling window and a new mahogany bar with an adjoining outdoor cocktail deck. During warm months seating is available on our harbor view screen porch. The atmosphere is casual but the food is serious. Chef Dennis la Planet has been recognized as a “chef’s chef”. North Atlantic seafood prepared with a northern Italian influence and aged steaks are just the start. Lunch features organic salads, creative sandwiches and traditional favorites; fish and chips, chowders and fried clams too.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food was on point!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Had a late dinner at the bar. Full menu was available. Organic duck was fabulous. Tournedos of beek was hearty and well prepared. Lovely wine and beer selections. Local beers too.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    32
    14
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A very fine experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Arrived without a reservation, were seated promptly on the porch which looks over the gorgeous Harbor...boats gliding by, sounds of sea gulls. Served a nice cocktail right away...the whole dinner was paced nicely. Server was just great.
I had a beautifully presented swordfish with fingerling potatoes (a little crumbled bacon), micro greens and some crispy fried oysters over the top. Wow. Very pretty and very tasty. My partner had a really generous and well prepared "orange organic duck"...loved it.
It was a wonderful night!

As locals we have been here several times over the years and have found the Dockside to be a bit inconsistent. But with a generous spirit, we write this review about last night alone. Based on that we will return sooner rather than later and will send friends.

The only constructive criticism I have is the music and sound system for the porch. Could I recommend some quieter piano or guitar music...something more relaxing, please. Just an opinion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Rehearsal Dinner at the Dockside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I had never been to the Dockside or tried their food, but I was looking for a place that would do a losbster-bake-type meal for my rehearsal dinner. I wanted my guests to have the Maine experience, after all! Phil Lusty, the organizer, was amazing from the get-go, as I was planning this all long distance. He gave me a great menu, with three options - Lobster, Steak, or charred tomato risotto for the vegetarians. The lobster was great, although some of the mussels had like, sand in them still? Which I guess it normal, and why they give you the dish of broth - to rinse them off. I heard from three people that the steak was the best they had, and from one person that the steak was "all right," all the vegetarians loved the risotto. Oh, they also had appetizers out on the porch. Maybe it's because I was the bride and running around, but I personally wasn't there for very long and couldn't partake in that section. People did say that they loved that it started in one location with a gorgeous view, and ended up in another. The blueberry crumble was amazing, and they also gave my gluten free friend some sorbet so she could have some dessert! Overall it was fantastic, I just didn't have time to have the appetizers! Beautiful views, good service, but it's a nice place, it's going to be a little pricey.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food in relaxing spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We stayed at the Dockside Inn and so ate there twice during our stay. One evening we ate on the patio and enjoyed the formal dinner menu. We had made reservations but had to wait a bit until a table was ready. The price is about what you would expect...a bit upscale, but the food was beautifully presented and was scrumptious. The staff was terrific. The last evening there we grabbed a bit less informal fare at the pub. The menu is not a typical pub fare menu ..... but it is a cozy spot, reasonably priced, fast service and great drinks (good selection of beer).

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Outside dining in perfect harborside setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Dockside is our favorite restaurant in the area. A wonderful setting overlooking York Harbor is the perfect place to enjoy a varied menu with plenty of seafood options including lobster. We chose broiled scallops; very tasty. Also a nice wine selection.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dockside Restaurant on York Harbor also viewed

 

Been to Dockside Restaurant on York Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Restaurant on York Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.