We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant to your Saves list
Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant
22 Harris Island Road, York, ME 03909   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Summer is coming!
Ranked #4 of 21 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We recently spent four nights at Dockside. We were in suite 106, the lower unit in the Crows Nest. It was everything we were looking for. We have been coming to York Harbor for almost 35 years and finally found the place that we will return to. Our unit was most inviting - lovely little seating area, small kitchenette and a great bedroom with a king size bed.

The best of all was the view from the deck. We were blown away by how close to the water we were. Probably about 15 to 20 feet away from the waters edge. We spent a lot of time sitting on the deck watching the tides come and go and the fishing boats too! Very peaceful location. Just what we wanted.

Although there is a kitchenette we only used it for snacks and cold drinks. We went up to the lodge each morning for the breakfast which included lots of different breads, pastries, fruit, cereals as well as baked eggs, sausages and french toast. It was really good!!

We were in York for four nights - and two of them we ate at the Dockside Restaurant. The first time because it was so handy - the second time because the food was soooo good the first time. We actually had the same meal both times. I had the drunken lobster - which was absolutely delicious and came with a generous portion of lobster and scallops too. My husband had the shrimp linguine - he raved about it - it was on the spicy side too - which he really liked. We would certainly eat there again and perhaps try some of the other dishes :)

The Dockside must be very popular as it was probably completely booked while we were there - however all guests were respectful and we did not feel stuck in the middle of a gaggle of folks. There are many activities on the property to do and bikes that you can sign out if you wish. Being in the lower unit we did hear the footfalls from the guests above us - but that is to be expected and did not really bother us.

On the whole we were really really happy with our choice to stay at Dockside. The staff were all very friendly and even took time to show us around the Captains House (sleeps 8) as we are interested in returning with the whole family next time. After all the years we have visited York Habor we know now that we will only ever stay at the Dockside. We seriously thought of trying to extend our stay a few more nights as we were so relaxed...alas we had to return home. But next time we will stay longer.

Highly suggest you stay here some time (but not when we need a room :)

Room Tip: If the sound of people moving/living above you is disturbing to you then you should select an upper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    41
    15
    1
    9
See reviews for
50
104
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
pacific palisades, CA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed two nights with 4 people in one of the upstairs suites overlooking the bay. Rooms are simple and unfussy. A bit small for us. Small kitchen - not good for much more than snacks. Breakfast in the main house is efficient and had everything we needed (juice, coffee, breads, egg dishes, etc.). Wifi was spotty - but you don't go to Maine for the wifi. Be aware that the beach is rocky and you are on the harbor beach, not the direct ocean beach. The harbor walk will take you over to the ocean beach (about a mile). Badminton on the lawn was a big hit with the family and you can take bicycles out. Lots of weddings during the summer, which can get noisy if they go too late. We visit in June and there were a lot of biting insects - bring bug spray!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I was only able to stay one night at the Dockside in July, but the room was quaint and comfy. The view was so pretty I didn't want to leave for the wedding. The food was very good (NOT a la Hampton Inn as another reviewer suggested) and the staff were efficient and helpful. It was pricey for my budget, but worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Still our favorite in southern Maine. Took mother-in-law. Again - great food, excellent service, reasonable price.

Nice dining in quiet, well appointed dining area with magnificent view of harbor.

Maine at its best.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Hampton, NH
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We came to the Dockside in June 2012 for our 30th wedding anniversary and we completely enchanted. It is only about 40 minutes from home, but being on the island felt like worlds away. Our room was perfect. Second floor, deck, view of the harbor. Staff helpful. Buffet breakfast was wonderful and afternoon snacks delightful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were one of six couples who recently spent 2 nights at this exceptionally well kept and delightful property in York, Maine. Our visit was quite memorable thanks to the professional staff including Innkeeper Eric Lusty. The Dockside Guest Quarters offers not only breathtaking views of the York River, a Marina, Boon Island Lighthouse and the Atlantic Ocean but a handful of fun amenities like boating, fishing, biking and numerous outdoor games. The morning buffet was plentiful and delicious. Afternoon bakery goodies, tea and coffee were very nice. The on property restaurant is certainly recommended - don't forget to save room for the the blueberry and or apple pie!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The dockside was a really nice place to stay. Breakfast was enough for our taste and was really pretty good. The room was clean. The bathroom was a little small but pretty clean. The staff was friendly and you just can't help but be at piece staying so close to the water. The view was awesome. You feel very secluded staying here as it is on its own island.

This place really gets 5 stars with respect to the restaurant food. It was really great. All meals were good as everyone has said. That being said, the only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because of the price. $250 per night is a little steep and $100 for two for dinner seems like a week of groceries. It would be perfect if this place was around $175 per night during peak season.

All in all if you want to spend that much money it is well worth it if you want to spend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestquarters, Owner at Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
I am glad that you enjoyed your visit to Dockside and hope you will return soon.
Unfortunately, the economics of running our business do not allow for $175 rooms. I am confidant that if you compared other waterfront accommodations offering amenities, service, food and location comparable to the Dockside you would find that our rates are very competitive. If you are looking to pay about $175 in the height of the summer season - the Best Western motel on Route One in York, has an average room rate of $180.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant

Address: 22 Harris Island Road, York, ME 03909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dockside is a special place on the Maine seacoast offering distinctive dining and lodging overlooking picturesque York Harbor. It captures the essence of Maine with its natural beauty, gracious hospitality and abundant activities. Accommodations are in the Maine House, a quintessential "New England Cottage" and multi-unit buildings at the water's edge, most with a private deck and water view. Our restaurant shares the same magnificent views while offering a truly enjoyable dinning experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant Hotel York
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant York, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.