We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gorgeous gem on York Harbor!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant to your Saves list
Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant
22 Harris Island Road, York, ME 03909   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Summer is coming!
Ranked #4 of 21 York B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Amherst, New Hampshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A gorgeous gem on York Harbor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I took my handicapped Mother away for a few Mother-Daughter days so she could enjoy the festivities on July 4th. We had a wonderful, peaceful stay--even when the cannon was fired from across the ocean, part of July 4th celebrations! My Mother loved it!
This is a place to rest, de-stress, have fun or just enjoy the gorgeous view of York Harbor right in front of you. Hot and cold breakfast was included and my Mother and I enjoyed it on our deck---right on the water. All rooms have a view of the ocean, boats coming and going and the sunrising in the morning. The handicapped first floor accomodations were perfect for my Mother and I. This room was hand selected for us by "Marie" after I explained what I needed. The room was a pretty choice with a queen bed and a futon--lovely red colors. We each had our own sleeping areas. The bathroom was granite with ceramic tiled floors plus all the handicapped features needed.
Marie went above and beyond her call of duty to see to our every service needs, like suggesting breakfast trays for eating out on the deck. My Mother thought this was outstanding service for her...she is not able to walk around too much. I promise you will like it here. It is a slice of heaven away from the York honky tonk beaches. I will recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Ask for "Marie" and tell her what you need! Leave the details to her!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    41
    15
    1
    9
See reviews for
50
104
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Winsted, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here (two adults, two children) for three nights. What a wonderful place! We were in room 112--a suite on the second (top) story of one of the little cottages overlooking the harbor. Everything was spotless and well-maintained. The bathroom was a little cozier than one might like, but that's the only (near) complaint we had. Nice bedroom and sitting room with fold-out sofa, and a little deck with table and chairs.

The hotel property is equally nice. Things to do for couples and families--shuffleboard, badminton, bike rentals. The employees were wonderful. It has a homey feel, but no detail goes unplanned or unnoticed. Breakfast was great; especially loved the potted eggs. You can sit in the dining room, on the porch, or use one of the trays to bring breakfast back to your cottage. There are baked goods and coffee/tea available throughout the day, though we never availed ourselves of them. Too much beaching to do!

We only went to the restaurant for one dinner. It was very nice, overlooking the harbor. Great service. The food was good, but nothing out of the ordinary. Still, all very pleasant.

If you want to stay immersed in the beach scene 24/7, there may be better choices in York. But if you want to retreat away from the beach each evening and enjoy a more peaceful setting, Dockside is the place for you. It's all very simple, but it almost has the feeling of an English country house with house guests staying for a week or more. Everything is subdued and gracious. We will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Another fantastic week at the Dockside. We found this hidden gem a few years ago by accident and have never vacationed anywhere else since. Quite location just off the beaten path yet close enough to all the area has to offer. This is the place to go if you want to really relax by the ocean with great views and nice grounds without the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas and beaches. You don't have to leave to dine as the restaurant offers a nice variety for lunch and dinner. The staff is great and very welcoming why would anyone go somewhere else?

Room Tip: All the rooms have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We booked a standard room for a last minute trip to the area. We have been traveling to York for some time and know the area well; we are disappointed we have not stayed here sooner! Nice, quiet location with short walk down to bustle of the harbor. Every room has an amazing view, and you can literally walk right down to the water's edge to explore the coast line. Breakfast quality and selection was certainly above standard continental offerings and very tasty. The room was immaculate upon arrival and was kept that way through our entire three day stay. (My only suggestion would be to add a mini fridge to the standard rooms.) Apparently the property is also highly regarded by the locals. Enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

We attended a wedding at restaurant there. Driving in through the working boatyard, one might be skeptical; but the inn is like a hidden surprise at the end of the road. The view and peacefulness is just wonderful. We slept with sliders to deck (overlooking the harbor and open water) open and got a lovely sea breeze and heard the early morning boats going out quietly. Great sunrise, and had a fabulous rainbow over the water after a T-storm one afternoon.Room was very clean and the alcove where our son slept was perfect. Comfy bed...we all slept very soundly. Main inn is older but interesting and well maintained. Great breakfast offerings and cute dining room, or, lots of spaces to have breakfast on the covered porch overlooking the ocean. Love the early bird coffee available at 6:30. Grounds/flowers lovingly maintained. Bicycles, shuffleboard, badminton available. Checking in, Carlene actually brought us to our room and gave us an orientation to the place....nice touch. Take a stroll past the boatyard, across the main road and over the small pedestrian suspension bridge to a very nice walking trail area...very pleasant. I gave two constructive ideas of feedback in an e mail to the management, and received an e mail back the same day looking into these. Finally, the wedding at the restaurant was also great: good food and nice staff, great view, nice outdoor patio...really a perfect weekend.

Room Tip: I would definitely try to get a room with a deck overlooking the ocean. If you have three people, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We have eaten at Dockside Restaurant many times, but this was our first stay at the Dockside Guest Quarters. We are already planning to come back before the end of the summer. It is a lovely inn, historic and very well cared for. The pride of ownership is apparent in everything, including the upkeep of the well-planned landscape, green expanses of lawn dotted with beautiful perennials, mature trees and a gazebo, overlooking the picture-perfect harbor.
We were delighted with our room with a fireplace and view (#123) away from the main house. My husband does not usually care for B&B's, preferring our solitude when traveling but we had much privacy. Breakfast was delicious and I took it back to watch the boats and birds off our private deck. We borrowed the inn's nice bikes to tour York Harbor. During our three night stay, we also visited York Beach, Ogunquit and the Stonewall Kitchen, plus golfed one day. My faves took place on the lovely grounds though, having tea and baked treats on the front porch in the afternoon and a lovely sunset dinner at the Dockside (nice to be steps away!)
Lovely stay! Perfect!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Quiet and peaceful with a beautiful ocean view. My wife, toddler and I stayed for a wedding this past weekend (held right on the grounds off the main house with a spectacular ocean view). Our room had a kitchenette and a separate room where our son's portable crib fit perfectly. The bed was very comfortable and I had the best two nights of sleep that I have had in a long time. Our stay was the definition of relaxing and we look forward to returning many more times in the coming years. The guest quarters was immaculate and very well kept. The service was impeccable and the restaurant onsite is a culinary gem. An ideal setting for a wedding and a wonderful getaway for our little family. We will cherish many happy memories from our stay and look forward to staying again to make many more memories. If you are looking for a relaxing and picturesque place to stay while in the York, ME area, look no further and book your stay at Dockside Guest Quarters.

Room Tip: If traveling with a young child Room 116 in the Lookout building was perfect with a separate room co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant

Address: 22 Harris Island Road, York, ME 03909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dockside is a special place on the Maine seacoast offering distinctive dining and lodging overlooking picturesque York Harbor. It captures the essence of Maine with its natural beauty, gracious hospitality and abundant activities. Accommodations are in the Maine House, a quintessential "New England Cottage" and multi-unit buildings at the water's edge, most with a private deck and water view. Our restaurant shares the same magnificent views while offering a truly enjoyable dinning experience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant Hotel York
Dockside Guest Quarters And Restaurant York, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Guest Quarters and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.