We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Maine B & B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Morning Glory Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Morning Glory Inn to your Saves list
Morning Glory Inn
120 Seabury Rd., York, ME 03909   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Fine Food & Romance!
Ranked #1 of 21 York B&B and Inns
East Falmouth, MA
1 review
“Charming Maine B & B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Morning Glory Inn is a small delightful hide-away in York, ME. The garden and grounds are lovely. The proprietors make every effort to make your visit comfortable and the breakfasts are served beautifully as well as being excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    133
    3
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
105
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We travel domestically, internationally and love to stay at B&Bs. A true standout for us on our Memorial Day weekend escape was spending time at the lovely Morning Glory Inn. The inn is surrounded by beautiful gardens and is located in a very peaceful spot that tucks you far enough away from the world, but keeps you close enough to enjoy all the best that the southern Maine coast has to offer. The inn is also within easy driving distance to explore Portsmouth, NH, and even the city of Portland. Our hosts, Bill and Bonnie Alstrom, are friendly, welcoming, and knowledgeable. Without ever being intrusive, they attended to our plans and added their own personal touch by offering advice on things to see and restaurants to frequent. We stayed in the charming Sandpiper Room that was cozy, quite comfortable and had its own private patio. Breakfasts were delicious, presented buffet-style and we found ourselves indulging in second helpings. We highly recommend the Morning Glory Inn to everyone who appreciates the extra effort that innkeepers make to elevate their inn’s ambiance and give cordial attention to providing warm hospitality. Thanks Bonnie and Bill, we’ll be seeing you again!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Many choices abound the this charming New England town for lodging. Many are adequate and some are great. However, this is a place that will create and leave memories imprinted in your mind long after your departure. The Innkeepers are gracious, approachable and very helpful without being intrusive. The house and property are as charming as they can be in New England and the food is prepared with care and love.
We hope to return and build on the experience of our first stay at the Morning Glory Inn.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We are becoming regulars with frequenting B&B for Columbus day weekend which also falls on the same weekend as my birthday. We have had the goldilocks experience with a few places in that one is too this another is too that. The Morning Glory was just right. The proprietors, i feel bad that i do not recall their names, were very friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. We are often leary of eating at places with limites options cause we are picky eaters but this was not a concern. The room was the best location in the establishment nestled away upstairs from everyone. Judging from this experience and others we must be on the young side for staying at su h places but have still felt wel ome ecspecially here. The location kind of seemed off the beaten path but was rather close to many things. We would definitely consider staying again and would recommend others if they are looking for personal service in a small setting with gracious hosts.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This B&B is among the best I have ever stayed in ( And I have stayed in many in NE).
A perfect formula of gracious and accommodating hosts, comfortable lodging and convenient location provide the traveler with the comfort of " being at home". Our hosts, Bill & Bonnie, made sure that every small detail was carefully attended to - very clean, very quiet and very comfortable. The breakfasts ( included with lodging) were delicious - A real treat! York Harbor is less than a 5 minute drive. The MG Inn is a close commute to Rte. 1, 1A and the Maine Turnpike although the country setting in the woods provides the beauty and quietude of a secluded country inn.
I would recommend this B&B as a perfect get-away location for couples. You will not be disappointed. In fact, the other guests we met at the MG Inn were all repeat guests. We will certainly return as well when visiting the southern Maine coastal area. Thank you Bonnie & Bill for your warm welcome and helpfulness.

Room Tip: We stayed 2 nights in Rachel's Suite on the first floor which is both spacious and private with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Bonnie and Bill are 2 of the most amazing people we have ever met. They are very accomodating and caring. We've visited their bed and breakfast multiple times and have always had a fantastic stay. The grounds are well kept and maintained as is the entire house. The atmosphere is quiet and relaxing, a place where you deffinitely want to return to. The breakfasts are delicious and homemade and served in a professional manner. Visiting with them is like visiting with family. -Bill & Cathy D'A

Room Tip: We recommend the Rachel room! It's our favorite room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a quick, one-night getaway before joining our children at their athletic event in Manchester, NH, and after settling on the York area, Trip Advisor turned up the Morning Glory Inn. I have just been reading some of the many glowing reviews for this inn, and I cannot really add much (NickandCathy and TheresaandEric's reviews are in the margin as I write this, and I would agree with everything I read in those reviews). The innkeepers, Bill and Bonnie, are warm and welcoming hosts, and we left feeling that we had made new friends. The inn is cozy and inviting, and there is quite a bit of common area in which to relax and unwind. Our room was comfortable, bright, and perfect. We are unfamiliar with the area, and we arrived hungry and with no plans for our limited time. Bill gave us suggestions for everything from where the best lobster rolls could be found, where we might like to eat them, where to take a scenic stroll along the ocean, where to enjoy dinner, and a route for a morning jog before breakfast. We followed all of his leads and are glad we did; we had a wonderful stay in a beautiful inn in a quiet setting, and we have already promised ourselves that we'll return for the same getaway next year. Thanks!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Morning Glory Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morning Glory Inn

Address: 120 Seabury Rd., York, ME 03909
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > York
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in York
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Morning Glory Inn is beautiful & peaceful. Pull into a driveway surrounded by well-tended gardens and your vacation begins. The rooms are gracious and comfortable, and there are large common areas to enjoy, including a library with cozy chairs & lots of good books. A highlight is the gourmet breakfast, which is made with care & expertise. Everything is homemade, from granola to muffins, and afternoon cookies. Located on the quiet side of York Harbor, a short walk to river, harbor and open ocean views, and just a mile to the nearest beach. Each guest room includes; private baths, flat panel TVs, DVD players, Wireless Internet Access, a mini-fridge and a private outdoor deck. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Morning Glory Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morning Glory Inn York, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Morning Glory Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.