We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious place for lunch--fun food and great to shop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Kitchen Cafe

Stonewall Kitchen Cafe
Stonewall Ln, York, ME 03909
(207) 351-2712
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 102 Restaurants in York
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Boston MA
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Delicious place for lunch--fun food and great to shop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Family of four stopped here for lunch on the way home from weekend in Ogunquit. My husband had a roast beef sandwich with all kinds of interesting things on it, son had a BLT, daughter had a roasted veggie sandwich and I had brie and fig compote. We also had a side of a very good cole slaw and caprese rice salad. Everything was very good, funky sodas too (grape was the best). Desserts looked yummy, but we were too full to try them. A bit pricey, but the food was excellent--you place your order, get a number and then the server brings it to your table--we were outside in the lovely backyard terraced area. Pretty and delightful place to grab a bite. Store is a lot of fun too--they put out all kinds of things to sample....mmmmmmm strawberry balsamic jam. Yum yum.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    38
    12
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lunch stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We travel to Ogunquit twice a year and generally make it a point to time our trip so we can have lunch here. Although when full the cafe can be noisy, we never have been disappointed by the food. This trip was no exception. My pulled-pork sandwich was tasty, if oddly served on thick white bread lightly toasted. The side salad was fresh mixed greens with balsamic dressing. My companion had chowder, which she described as delicious, and half a tuna salad sandwich. Last fall I got adventurous and tried the lobster tacos, which were wonderful. We were happy to find a low table; neither of us was interested in the high tables that abut the shopping area. The woman who took our orders was friendly; the woman who took our money was not. But in our experience that was an exception.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queens, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“only breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This review is only based on baked goods and coffee which I picked up for a quick breakfast. The coffee is FANTASTIC!!!! I was extremely disappointed in the baked goods as they were just ordinary. For a company that sells very fine breakfast and dessert mixes (which are truly great), the blueberry muffin and scones that I had were not up to par with the store products. And for the price ($6.50) for a cup of coffee and muffin, I expected a lot more.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Hampstead, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We have eaten several times at the Stonewall Kitchen in York Maine. We visited there the other day and were delighted with the selection, both regular and seasonal, that they offer. The cafe is a wonderful little place to stop and have lunch, or even have a light breakfast. It is clean and the people who work there are helpful. We purchase many of Stonewall Kitchen items in the big store which is attached right next to the cafe. Recommend the Cafe and the store highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I hate when I recommend a place to eat and it doesn't live up to expectations. I had eaten breakfast there and thought it was wonderful. Today for lunch I was happy to see a caprese panini on rosemary bread. However the rosemary taste was overwhelming, the tomatoes were tasteless and mushy and the mozzarella was blah. My companion had a turkey reuben which he described as "eh". All this plus 2 iced teas for $27. Guess I'll stick to breakfast there if there's nowhere else open

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stonewall Kitchen Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stonewall Kitchen Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Kitchen Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.