We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible restaurant” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ruby's Wood Grill

Ruby's Wood Grill
433 Us Route 1, Ste 501, York, ME 03909
+1 207-363-7980
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 101 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Ruby's has four distinct areas to enjoy. Our dining area has a great view of our cooks hand making our brick oven pizzas. Our indoor pub has a relaxed atmosphere with large, comfortable chairs. Our enclosed patio area is a great option for those seeking outdoor seating when the weather is nice. Our enclosed "deck" has 11 high-def widescreen tv's with the NFL ticket as well as games for the kids. We also feature 14 beers on tap, and full wine & liquor service.
Kittery, Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“horrible restaurant”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stopped there Thursday night for a lobster roll for my wife's birthday. They only serve lobster rolls on the weekend. We were seated nest to an open window which kept blowing on my wife's hair. We switched seats. My wife ordered haddock which was ok but her potatoes were not warm. I ordered a pulled pork sandwich which they claimed was slow cooked. There was no flavor and the bottom part of the roll was so soggy that it couldn't be eaten. The service was slow. The food not appetizing and the atmosphere poor. Ruby's is not a good place to eat. Go elsewhere. There are many other good restaurants in the area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    48
    17
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“huge portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped off on the way from Boston to Portland, and stumbled upon Ruby's. well worth coming off the interstate a few minutes further.
The portions were huge and delicious. The best fried chicken I have had outside Tennessee , and friendly welcoming service.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuftonboro, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very friendly staff, good service. Food was very good. This is a nice family place with enough things on the menu for everybody. I thought the prices were very fair, the portions of food are really big. Nice place for a fast bite to eat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ogunquit, me
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Place needs a thorough cleaning!!!! Come on owner's, spend a little for cleaning!!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We frequent here quite often, food is usually very good and service is exceptional!!! Our last visit on Valentine's night, we got to sit at a booth on the front, last one on the right. My friend was sitting looking at the wall and noticed a big spider in a huge web right behind me under the TV!!! Don't know the last time that area was cleaned? Then her eyes caught the cold air return, which was probably 2'x3' in diameter. There was sooooo much dirt on it that it had turned black!!! Pretty disgusting, just unclip the 4 clips and take it outside and clean it with the mats in the bar!!!! Are these owners blind that they don't see these turn-offs to customers or what? Hopefully when we go back next week, it will be cleaned up!!! Good food and service though!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great family restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Great food and great atmosphere. Kids love it.
as do the adults. Brick oven pizza and yummy fajitas!
Another great meal at Rubys.
Thanks agian!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruby's Wood Grill also viewed

 

Been to Ruby's Wood Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruby's Wood Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.