We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better bring your "A" game!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ledges Golf Club

The Ledges Golf Club
1 Ledges Dr, York, ME 03909
207-351-3000
Improve this listing
Activities: Golfing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ledges Golf Club offers the finest golf experience on the seacoast. William Bradley Booth designed 18 memorable holes that offer a fair and demanding test throughout this beautiful New England terrain. Become a member or just play for the day and you’ll see how The Ledges earned its reputation for genuine service and superior course conditions.
York, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Better bring your "A" game!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This track is a test for the scratch golfer and can certainly be intimidating for the high handicapper. The greens are absolutely HUGE and there isn't a flat putt on the whole course. I'm willing to be that those lucky ones who have experienced Sugarloaf should certainly see similarities; number eight at The Ledges will remind you of 11 at The Loaf! Try it, you're gonna like it!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    3
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maine
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“One of the best courses in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Ledges is easily a top 10 course in the state if not a top 5 course. The greens and fairways were in great shape and each hole is unique. There are only 2 negatives to this course. First, the cart paths are in desperate need of repair. With a little new asphalt, the course would seem all that much better. The second negative is the price. Compared to the other top courses in the state (that all offer discounted rates from time to time) the greens fees seem to be a little high. I would highly recommend playing this course!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taft, California
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Fun but wet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

My husband played this golf course twice. It was a rainy, and stormed both times, but he still loved playing it, because it was so well kept.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“What do you get with a high price DISAPPOINTMENT”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

92 Dollars equals great greens pockmarked and ragged fairways cartpaths that need a 4 by 4 cart does nobody work on this track put some money into it. Save your doe this is not worth it

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Golf Course - Simple Review: Don't Miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Planning trip to southern Maine, spend much time looking for courses to play. Ledges had some great reviews, including Golf Digest. So it went on the list. We played 2 days - but more about that later.

Great course, great staff, and even great food at the club house (the best Reuben Sandwich (with drunken sauerkraut - beer added), and onion rings we've had) . I found all the holes to be challenging and a lot of fun to play. The view and setting was fantastic. Each hole had is own character carved out of hills. The course was meticulous; with grounds keepers all over.

The front nine was my favorite all the 3 courses we played this week - Ledge, Outlook and Old Marsh. All 9 holes were special. Rolling hills allows to chase balls up to many greens. Some short par 4's required good course management. No need to bring the driver to every tee box.

The par 3, 8th is truly scenic. Its the picture on their web site. 170-180 yds straight downhill with a pond on the left. My best hole - 10 ft from the each day. Missed the putt both days also :(

We played two days as a storm came as we were finishing the front nine on day one. I was having a Caddyshack 'priest' day, and didn't want to stop. But sadly, they maybe us stop because of lightning in the area. That gave us time to talk with the staff at the pro shop and restaurant. Great people. Helpful and friendly. Anyway, got a raincheck for 9 holes and came came back a few days later - the drizzle again on the front nine felt like we hadn't left. Sun came out for the back 9. Knowing the front nine from day 1, helped on day 2 as tee shot placement was important.

Bottom-line: play Ledges. You'll want to play it again. I know I do.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ledges Golf Club also viewed

 

Been to The Ledges Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ledges Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.