We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bright and charming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Katahdin Inn on the Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in York
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Katahdin Inn on the Beach
Save
You added Katahdin Inn on the Beach to your Saves list
11 Ocean Ave Ext., York, ME 03909   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 York B&B and Inns
Bristol, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Bright and charming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

A lovely guest house well situated right on York Beach. Spotlessly clean with mis-matched colour towels and linen and handmade patchwork quilt - nice break from the uniform white of hotels and motels. We had an en-suite but some rooms had shared bathrooms so worth checking. Those without may have had best sea views. Guests have their own lounge and you can sit on the terrace and watch the waves roll in, or take deckchairs down on to the beach. The owners Rae and Bob (?) recommended Fox's restaurant down by the lighthouse. We went and had a great lobster dinner - but closed from mid Oct for the winter. This Inn was our absolute favourite out of all those we used in New England. A restful home from home.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
5
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

The Inn is virtually on the beach! The location can't be beat! You get a parking spot too which is key in the busy Maine beach towns.

We had a lovely view in a shared-bath room. Room was spacious and the bathrooms were immaculate.

We travelled with a young child and this is a fantastic budget option. In addition to being virtually on the beach, there is a hugh wrap around porch, a stocked game room and a large living room. It is a great place for kids.

It has a very cozy slightly step-back-in-time feel.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyde Park, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

I have been to Maine many times and the Katahdin is a fantastic place. The rooms are clean and comfortable, the views uncomparable. Owners Bob and Rae are wonderful hosts. Staying with them is like visiting family. The inn is perfectly placed, only a quarter mile from the shops and restaurants yet right on the beach. We had a room overlooking the beach and slept to the sound of the surf.

The living room is big and airy, a great place to be if the weather keeps you in. There is a large porch that just begs you to sit and look out over the beach with your morning coffee, or relax with a book.

The Katahdin is a piece of Maine history. It is over 120 years old, with all the charm that brings, yet is modern enough to be comfortable with cable tv in the living room and wi-fi access. The furniture and decor are perfect. The moment we steped inside, we knew we had found true Maine.

This was the second visit for my wife and me. Our first was July 4th weekend. We had such a good time that trip that we had not been home for an hour when we decided to book this one.

Room Tip: Book early, and ask. The hosts will do their best to accomodate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

Never been closer to a Maine beach than this little no-breakfast B&B that's a stones throw from Short Sands Beach, a gentle stretch of clean sand that is ideal for family fun.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view of the sea are recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, NH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed for one night at the Katahdin Inn in July 2011. We had actually stayed at the Atlantic House on a whim, and while touring around York we noticed the Katahdin. It's hard not to notice it from the beach, it's bright yellow and looks right out over the water. We were loving Short Sands and the whole atmosphere at York, and were interested in trying someplace else to stay. So, two weeks later we returned with our 3-year-old and tried the Katahdin.

We stayed in a room with a shared bathroom. The lack of a private bathroom was never an issue for us, even with a kid. There are also some room with private baths, for a little more money. The room itself was super clean, with a fridge and fans. It felt like a lot of B&Bs and Inns: old fashioned, but comfortable and homey. When we asked for a couple more fans Bob, one of the owners, took care of it immediately. Everything about the room was great, there wasn't anything we felt was missing. The water view from the windows was fantastic too!

It sounds somewhat crass, but one of the advantages of the Katahdin was parking. There are spots for each room, just across the street from the Inn and steps from the beach. York can get pretty crowded, so being able to arrive and pull in was really nice. Bob and Rae, the owners, even graciously let a friend who was meeting us park in an empty spot for a few hours.

The Katahdin has a ton of beach things for guests to borrow- chairs, umbrellas, toys, etc, which we took total advantage of. The main activities seemed to be sitting on the big front porch and reading. After our kid went to bed we played some of the board games in the game room, which also looked out on the water.

The town center of York is about a 5 minute walk from the Katahdin, and the beach is a minute or less. And in the end the price was unbeatable- starting at $95 per night, with wonderful location, nice owners, and just about everything you could need. We'll be back, and will recommend the Katahdin to friends traveling to the area.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Katahdin Inn on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Katahdin Inn on the Beach

Address: 11 Ocean Ave Ext., York, ME 03909
Location: United States > Maine > York
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in York
Number of rooms: 9
Also Known As:
Katahdin Inn On The Beach York, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Katahdin Inn on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.