We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy this restaurant and piano music” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muddy Rudder Restaurant

Muddy Rudder Restaurant
1335 Rte 1, Yarmouth, ME 04096-6970
+1 207-846-3082
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Muddy Rudder Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 31 Restaurants in Yarmouth
Price range: $1 - $25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Chowder, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Owner Matthew Witham are proud and excited to invite you to The Muddy Rudder Restaurant. Matt's vision of providing guests with exceptional food, coupled with impeccable service, has materialized on the picturesque coastline of Maine.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Enjoy this restaurant and piano music”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Saturday night, about 6pm some beautiful background piano music is played. Nice window views of the marsh/water way. I find I do have to ask for good seating, otherwise the last 4x they have tried to put us in the back room near the entrance with no views and I think alittle confined. I've spoken up and was accomodated, which I appreciate. Food, lots to choose from and can always find something that suits me.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    89
    51
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, FL
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“OVER PRICED AND POOR FOOD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Highly disappointed in the food and service. Went there on a Friday night so you might expect slow service on a busy night but here should be no excuse for the food. We ordered the seafood casserole and the seafood special, which were various seafoods over a tomato-based linguine. Both dishes were very bland and had absolutely no taste. The sauce on the linguine seemed to be poured directly out of a can of tomato sauce. Good thing we were using a groupon. It would have really been disappointing if we had to pay the prices specified on the menu, which are very high considering the quality of the food. For dessert we ordered the crème brule that is hard to describe. It came with a nice caramelized topping, however, when you put the spoon into it, it was like soup. It seemed as if someone forgot to prepare it. Since we didn't want to wait around to complain after the poor meal and the dessert fiasco, we left very disappointed.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cresco, Iowa
1 review
“Enjoyed every aspect of the Muddy Rudder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Freeport Inn, so it was most convenient for us, once we discovered that not only was the service excellent but the food was consistantly tasty, hot and the menu choices (despite being pretty basic) were adequate. On October 19th our server was Molly, on 21st, Gerald, 24th was Eric and 25th it was Nicole. They took the time to answer our questions and provide their expertise on what to do and see in the area. We truly enjoyed the ambiance and the staff.
Lester and Ruth

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Alway enjoy the food and views, usually have a fish dish and a cold beer or glass of wine, have been there over 20 times over the years

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, KY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We ate at this restaurant because it was close to our hotel and it was pouring rain and cold. What a wonderful surprise!..The outside did not look like anything special, just ok. The inside was beautiful! The restaurant was warm and inviting and there was a man playing the piano softly. We were seated right away (its a good thing--the place really filled up on that cold rainy weeknight!). The food was excellent. My husband had scallops and I had baked haddock. Both were wonderful The service was excellent and the wait staff was very friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Muddy Rudder Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Muddy Rudder Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muddy Rudder Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.