We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Food, Slow Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bistro 233

Bistro 233
233 US Rt 1, Yarmouth, ME 04096
207-846-3633
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 31 Restaurants in Yarmouth
Cuisines: Bistro
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Maine
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Slow Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal. The food was good, although nothing spectacular. It was not real busy but, everything seemed to take a long time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    13
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Maine
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Food--Excellent Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I had the special pasta dish which was good, but a little too creamy. To be fair I almost never order a creamy pasta dish. there was plenty of pasta and plenty of chicken in the dish. It was also nice and hot which I like. My wife had a pulled pork sandwich which she liked a lot.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good all-around restaurant for family and friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Menu has something for everyone, all-American cuisine, comfortable seating, great service, full bar, and convenient location in Yarmouth.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Memorable Meal, Attentive Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We found this place by chance and that was a stroke of luck! I ordered the appetizer Mussels as my main course and had a salad. I asked if I could have some bread and it took some time to arrive. The waitress then explained that they make their own bread and it was baking. It came to the table hot out of the oven. It was wonderful!

The mussels were tender and cooked just right--no grit, no rubbery consistency. My friend's meal was also excellent, but she had some trouble choosing between what she ordered and a bowl of clam chowder. She was very pleased with her choice, but even more pleased when the waitress brought out a little taste of the chowder saying, "I just wanted you to try it, it's so good." She was right! It was the best chowder I've ever had.

Everyone's food looked delicious and fresh. The hamburgers even looked tempting, but I couldn't be that close to the coast and not have seafood!

Great restaurant, wonderful service. I certainly will recommend this to others and hope to go back again myself.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greely
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Impressive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

They have a solid number of appealing dishes on their menu...we arrived around 16:30 and the server joked that we beat the rush ( it was quite dead)...by the time we finished a satisfying and non-rushed meal the place was filling up quickly!
I only had a burger meal but it was tremendous, very tasty and the presentation was great...would definitely return to this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 233 also viewed

 

Been to Bistro 233? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bistro 233, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.