We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sarahs in Wiscasset” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarah's Cafe

Sarah's Cafe
Main Street, Wiscasset, ME 04578
207 882 7504
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 28 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Sarahs in Wiscasset”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We had to stop. There was an accident on the Bridge across the river and traffice was stopped for over 2 hours. We turned around and stopped at SARAH's, right across the street from RED'S EATS (the best Loster Rolls in Maine). Sarah's is a local downhome eatery. Good Food, Good Lobster Dishes, and lots else too. Desserts were homemade and delicious. If the line is too long at RED'S EATS during the day, you might try Sarah's. Just might hit the spot, OK !!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    95
    35
    24
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We ended up here after deciding not to eat at Red's as they were out of crab and we wanted a place to sit! I ordered the soup and bread bar and had a marvelous haddock chowder and some great bread! The best chowder I had in New England!
My husband had the lobster roll, slaw and haddock chowder. After having chowder the night before, he was amazed at the taste and said if he knew it was so good, he would have passed on the lobster roll!! But the lobster roll was good and plenty of food at a fair price. I would return for another meal without hesitation!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothbay, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“OOPs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Stopped by for a take out pizza recently and found it not like it was in the past. The crust was very thick, sauce was exceedingly spicy and the toppings meager. Would not recommend pizza here for anyone. In the past it was delicious, but over the years, perhaps their success has done a number on the quality? We don't know the real answer, but the most recent visit was a bust.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“home cookin on route 1”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My wife and I travel ROUTE 1 alot from Portland to Castine .We make sure that we stop at Sarahs for a meal. Price food and service all excellent.There are not many as good as this one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We had heard so much about this place, that we were eager to go and try it out. Wiscasset itself is such a cute town - we loved walking around. By the time we got into Sarah's cafe, we were cold, wet and hungry. We ordered the chowder because we wanted to warm up, and asked to be seated by the window, after hearing about the incredible view. Well, the chowder was ok, and the view was not quite what we expected. Yes, we saw the beautiful river, but first we saw the parking lot and Red's Eats with it's long line and only then do you see the river, so it's not as if it's right on the water. Casual atmosphere and very friendly service.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarah's Cafe also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Sarah's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarah's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.