We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Settle down, it's just cold lobster on a bun.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red's Eats

Red's Eats
41 Water St, at Main Street, Wiscasset, ME 04578
207 882 6128
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
minnesota
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Settle down, it's just cold lobster on a bun.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

It's great lobster meat but, I had other lobster rolls in Maine and Red 's to me isn't a "lobster roll". It's big chunks of meat (not complaining here) on bread you can dip in butter or mayo on the side. What's the big deal? Fun event if you live where you can't get fresh lobster meat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    113
    73
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Your Kidding Right?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Returning to Wiscasset for a short vacation, I was curious what all the hype was concerning Reds and their lobster roll. We arrived around 12 on a Sunday afternoon, there were approximately 30 people waiting in line (20 min.wait) which is supposedly a fraction of what is usually there. It appears that many who visit Reds have never been lucky enough to have Maritime lobster.I can only comment on the lobster roll . The portion itself was adequate(lb+?) , the lobster was way over cooked rubbery almost not edible for anyone who would know the difference. So to those who will wait for an hour or more along a major highway at the cost of 17 dollars?? for this so called world famous lobster roll, knock yourself out. I am presuming they put back much of the "cash only?" to the local community that must survive after their short vacation season, Myself I will drive to Mickey Ds 10 min.away and get an in season lobster roll that is edible at a fraction of the price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dissapointed ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Was really looking forward to a great lobster roll. Stopped into reds on the way back to portland from boothbay harbor. Line was long and so was the wait. It would've been worth it had it tasted great. Def had no fillers and had huge chunks of lobster which made the $18 price seemingly worth it but it was served cold, and had an inescapable fishy smell and taste. Couldn't get past it even with the butter. Maybe some mayo would've helped.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Yummy lobster rolls!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I had read that Red's Eats was THE PLACE in Maine to experience lobster rolls. I was not disappointed! It is just a little building just before the Wiscasset Bridge to Edgecomb. We were there during the shoulder season for Maine and still there was a line for the food, albeit, not a long one. I would highly recommend making the trip to try their rolls!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great Fried Clams”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Took a countryside drive to Reds and as usual, the fried clams were worth the 30 min drive. However, the tartar sauce had way too much relish that I decided to eat the clams without it. So much effort is put into these delicious clams and other fried items, too bad the tartar sauce was not good. Still a great place to eat!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red's Eats also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Red's Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red's Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.