We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Lobster Roll” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red's Eats

Red's Eats
41 Water St, at Main Street, Wiscasset, ME 04578
207 882 6128
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 28 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“The Best Lobster Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

During the summer, the line at Reds is always a long wait. Whenever I would drive by, there was always a line, and I don't wait in long lines....no matter how good the food might be. But finally one morning we drove by before it was actually open and there were three people standing in front of the lobster shack. So we stopped and waited 15 minutes for opening. What I discovered was that it took forever for orders to be taken. The three people in front of us who ordered knew what they wanted but the owner ( I'm assuming it was the owner) would ask everyone if they wanted a Whoopie Pie or a homemade blueberry something or other. No wonder why the line takes forever to move. Also, they only accept cash, so making change takes longer than swiping a card. I knew what I wanted: two lobster rolls and that's it. They were close to 19 bucks at the time, each. She did the turn-off sales pitch regarding dessert, which resulted in saying no and no. The line now was long behind us. Surprisingly, our two lobster rolls came up quickly. We had two sides of hot butter which they pour right out of the kettle and a side of mayo. The buns were toasted and absolutely STUFFED with big chunks of perfectly steamed lobster. It was literally the very best lobster roll I have ever had. But I still would not wait in a long line for it. That's just me. But if you want a lobster roll, you won't forget a Reds lobster. Get there early or in the evening before closing when there might not be a line.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    405
    113
    73
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga County, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lobster Roll Best of Show at Red's Eats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

Red's Eats is simply named and the concept is simpler still---almost sinful amount of the best damned lobster in New England, served on a simple roll with melted butter over it. Breathtaking scenery abounds on the Maine coast, and we traveled for almost a week on the mid-coast with an itinerary that included every lobster pound, shack, dock, and chowder house bragged about by tourist guides and restaurant reviewers. We experienced our share of Winslow Homer-type settings in which we were served wonderful seafood, and we will certainly return to these places. We could not though, find a better lobster roll than the weighty mass of cold, very fresh, large pieces of lobster unadorned except for melted butter served up under the Red's Eats sign and the bright red and white striped awning at the Sheepscot River Bridge on U.S. Route 1 in Wiscasset, Maine. You can't get a cocktail or brew here, but you can get wonderful fried clams---and even whoopie pies. (The impossibly-picky will find burgers, dogs, chicken and the like, but the $18 lobster roll is the star here, for sure, and the show was worth the 80-minute wait we experienced in the middle of the afternoon mid-week.) There are a couple of outside tables at the shack, but it's primarily take-out, and cash only.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“The Best Lobster Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

This is the classic, the one we always come back to in Maine, and the one I compare all other lobster rolls to. It is worth the wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

It goes without saying this is a popular eating joint and if Red's Eats is open you will probably have a wait. Both the waiting line and the tables are out side. Of course we had the famous lobster roll (buttery lobster heaped high on a fresh roll) but we also had an order of fried shrimp. The fried shrimp were the best. We topped off our meal with wild blue berry cake and a home made whoopee pie (fantastic, a must have). Luckily we found parking in a public lot down the street because we needed the walk.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The greatest lobster roll ever. I think complete lobsters in one roll!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

To have a lobster roll in Maine may be comparable to take a hot dog in Europe. I do know what I prefer. Being a novice to Lobster country - Maine - this place has been recommended. I do understand why - and why people i high season was queing of sometimes for more than 2 hours. Almost no mayo - only lobster. We were awaiting for Red's to open. It was worth waiting for..

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red's Eats also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Red's Eats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red's Eats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.