We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding B&B in Wiscasset” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newkirk Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wiscasset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Newkirk Inn
Save
You added Newkirk Inn to your Saves list
33 Washington St., Wiscasset, ME 04578   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Wiscasset B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Northborough, Massachusetts
1 review
“Outstanding B&B in Wiscasset”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were looking for a relaxing and welcoming place to stay with our friends as well as our dogs. Chris and Cheryl could not have been more graceous and welcoming hosts. They opened their B&B up to us and made it feel like home. The Newkirk Inn has 4 beautiful rooms that are all pet friendly. The weekend we were there the house was full, both with people and their canine companions. We stayed in a lovely large room on the first floor with a private bath and sitting room. Cheryl and Chris have done all the remodeling design work through out the house with thought and care. The stencilling on the walls and ceiling is beautiful. The rooms were all impecably clean, the breakfast was fresh and plentiful and the coffee hot. What more could we ask for. The Newkirk Inn is a centrally located in Wiscasset Maine for day trips to the surrounding areas of Boothbay, Popham Beach and Bath, Damariscotta, and Thompson. I can definately say we will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
52
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norway, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We are not usually B&B people but the location and price were so attractive that we decided to do an overnight here as this was a convenient location for attending a family wedding. It turned out to be the perfect spot, room was very large with comfy bed and a clean bathroom with nice toiletries. Chris and Cheryl are wonderful hosts, friendly and accommodating.Breakfast was casual, family style and delicious. We had our dog with us that night, she was equally as welcome. Pet owners this an excellent spot to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed here for a single night in the Dresden Suite which was a great, private area with a bedroom and sitting room. It was luxuriously large compared to our NYC apartment and it was really nice to have a separate room to read in while my fiance slept in. The breakfast was informal and served continental style. The AC was on when we got there, so we heard no road noise. The breeze blowing into the reading room was simply beautiful. Newkirk is a great, central place to stay that is really convenient to many places, including Boothbay, Pemaquid, and midcoast.

Room Tip: Loved the Dresden room with the bedroom, sitting room, and private bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lunenburg, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Although my husband and I have stayed in the MidCoast Maine area many times, this was our first stay at the Newkirk Inn. And we will definitely be back! A beautiful place to stay with great hosts, Cheryl and Chris. Our room was lovely and large, and spotlessly clean and comfortable. Breakfast was very good, and they were able to accomodate my gluten free diet.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewkirikInn, Owner at Newkirk Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank You! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Newkirk Inn was a great stay! The rooms are huge, including a "dressing area/study". Everything was extremely comfortable and breakfast in the morning was delish and easy...not to mention they have 4 of the awesomest Dachshunds around to greet you and brighten your mood.

Room Tip: Dresden room is where it's at!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewkirikInn, Owner at Newkirk Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you! The Dresden Room is where they stayed. It's a space that we love that is very affordable. Perfect for those traveling on business or those who like to have more than one room available to spread out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

On our way to camping in Acadia, we stayed here. Hosts were gracious; we warned them we would be arriving as late as 10pm, and they were very welcoming. Stayed in the Dresden room--the little suite with kitchenette on the top floor and found it welcoming and charming. It kind of felt like visiting my aunt or grandmother in Maine-- everything looked like it was in the family for years and well kept. Hosts had put magazines on Maine in our rooms, so I got to do some trip planning and helpfully pointed out stuff to do on the way up to Acadia.

Breakfast is family style; so be prepared to chat to your fellow guests.

If you use GPS; please note that its the first house on Washington Street.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My husband and i spent one night here, during a road trip to northern New England. We had the "Dresden" suite, which is a spacious suite on the top floor (like an attic, but with high enough ceilings for my 6' tall husband.) We were made to feel at home by the personable hosts, and enjoyed the location right in town. The room had a small refrigerator, coffee maker and kitchen sink so it would be possible to put together some picnic lunches for a longer stay. We had considered staying at a nearby motel, but the Newkirk proved to be a much better value!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewkirikInn, Owner at Newkirk Inn, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank You!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newkirk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newkirk Inn

Address: 33 Washington St., Wiscasset, ME 04578
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Wiscasset
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wiscasset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 1870 Greek Revival located in the heart of Wiscasset village. Waking distance from shopping, waterfront and restaurants. Off street parking, air conditioning, basic cable, wifi and ceiling fans are all part of the amenities. We provide an upscale continental breakfast each morning from 7:30 am - 9 am. Newkirk Inn is dog friendly... as long as your dog plays well with others and can climb stairs. Rooms are spacious and all are faux finished and stenciled. Check in is 3-5pm and check out is 10am. Other arrangements can be made if we are notified. Newkirk Inn has in season rates, off season and off/off season rates. Newkirk Inn can host small business meetings, weddings, and other events of your own making. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Newkirk Inn Wiscasset, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newkirk Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.