We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spragues = GREAT FOOD!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sprague's Lobster

Sprague's Lobster
22 Main Street, Wiscasset, ME
(207) 882-1236
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Alna, Maine
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spragues = GREAT FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Nice place to get lunch, Spragues is right on the Creamery Pier in Wiscasset so the view is good and there's a nice breeze. Their haddock sandwich is good sized and reasonably priced. The best drink is their home made lemonade - best I've had.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    26
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hanover, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Best Lobster Roll in Maine. Don't waste your time waiting at the famous place across the street, these blow them away. Cash only with some parking on site. Plenty of seating, nothing fancy just good food.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cushing, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst dining experience!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

My husband and I went here on Sunday, June 8th for the first time and it will be our last! It started with the horrible attitude of the person taking our order. I ordered a crab meat roll and fries and then my husband ordered the same thing. After he ordered, she said they were all out of crab meat. Then we both ordered a cheeseburger royal and fries. We were not asked how we would like our burgers cooked and mine was not done enough, the lettuce was slimy and the fries were definitely old and recooked, because they were crispy and oil soaked! They tasted and looked like 'grease sticks!' I took my fries to the counter and told the girl that took our order that the fries were not good and she asked if I would like new ones. I asked if they would be the same and she said, "yes." I took them to the owner and showed him a clump of fries that we were served and he just said, "I'm very sorry." Needless to say, we will never go back there!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Great lobster and clam rolls!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stopped here because Red's had not opened yet, and were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the lobster and clam rolls. They also offer home made iced tea, which is a plus if you're not into the usual range of sodas, etc. Lots of tables for outdoor dining, and great view. I can't compare the food to Red's because I have not eaten there yet.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Rather than wait for the hyped lobster rolls at Reds we decided to give Sprague's a try. The young lady was pleasant but it was obvious she would rather be somewhere else. They were out of a lot of menu items which left a very limited choice and we were disappointed with the food we got which warm, not hot, and lacked flavor.
There is some seating, and location is better than their competitors because it's close to the river and not directly onto the rail tracks, but it's still very close to the busy road.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprague's Lobster also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Sprague's Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sprague's Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.