We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to wait in line? just cross the street!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sprague's Lobster

Sprague's Lobster
22 Main Street, Wiscasset, ME
(207) 882-1236
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Wiscasset
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“No need to wait in line? just cross the street!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We were on our way to get a lobster roll at Reds but the long line was not in our plans. Read about Spragues right across the street and went there instead. Great call! Lobster roll was packed with juicy, sweet chunks of lobster. Oh my it was good! The hand cut fries were a winner too. Please, try this place unless you would rather waste time waiting and waiting.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    26
    8
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Finally..Real Crab”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I had the best crab roll I have had in years..the real thing. Loved it. Fried haddock sandwich also excellent..Fries hand cut and delicious.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“A Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Why wait, as they say, in line at the "eats" place across the street. Here you park, walk up on the deck and get great food in half the time. Tables on the deck add to the ambiance, and several cute "shacks" selling jams, gifts, etc. are also on the deck. We were delighted with this find, and had delicious lobster rolls filled with huge chunks of lobster on toasted hot dog buns. Quick, easy and fun too!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Divine Lobster Roll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Everybody stands in line for a long time to get a lobster roll at Red's in Wiscasset and for the life of me I don't know why when across the street at Sprague's they are every bit as good and the same price. Pure lobster meat with a little melted butter on top and a nice roll. Divine! We have also eaten at Red's do can compare the two. In addition there are picnic tables right on the water and a nice view.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Really good ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We both ordered the Hot Fudge Sundaes
Real whipped cream and fun, sit down picnic tables with a few craft & pottery places - fab view of the water, especially at sunset

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sprague's Lobster also viewed

Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
Wiscasset, Mid Coast Maine
 

Been to Sprague's Lobster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sprague's Lobster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.