We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place - off the beaten track” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Squire Tarbox

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wiscasset
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Squire Tarbox
Save
You added Squire Tarbox to your Saves list
1181 Main Road, Westport Island, Wiscasset, ME 04578   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Wiscasset B&B and Inns
California
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful place - off the beaten track”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Loved this place and the history associated with it! Wonderful organic gardens on a 'drive to" island in Maine (Westport Island - by Wiscasset, ME). We loved it totally - the only negative is that it takes about 1/2 an hour to drive to Wiscasset - and there is nothing to do /no other restaurants on Westport Island... but, for a wonderful/quiet get-a-way - it can't be beat! The only reason I give it 4 and not 5 is because it just takes so long to get anywhere!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquireT, Owner at Squire Tarbox, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Yes, we are off the beaten path. For some people this is a bonus, as it offers tranquility and peace away from the crazy crowds of tourists that can besiege Route 1. We love it our here, as the loudest noises are usually the bullfrogs and our rooster. I would like to correct the reviewers comment that it takes half an hour to get to Wiscasset. I can get there in about 12 minutes, but a driver unfamiliar with the roads may take 15-20 minutes. It is 9.5 miles at the most into town, and while it is a windy road, most people can get there in about 15 minutes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    16
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
10
44
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We needed somewhere to stay while visiting family in Richmond, ME and luckily came across this inn. It is a lovely establishment with a kitchen to drive miles for. The property is perfectly renovated--beds are large, linens are dreamy, showers are forceful, and there are cookies available 24/7, as is wine, spirits, soda, and juice (on the honor system, which warms our hearts).
Our breakfasts, and we asked to include two extra people at the last minute when family members wanted to join us, were fantastic-- every style of egg, crisp bacon and savory sausages, endless hot coffee, delicious toast and four kinds of juice.

Room Tip: Because it was Christmas week, most rooms were not available. We were given the first bedroom on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rattery, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We arrived without a reservation and were immediately welcomed, given a perfect room and included in the evening's dinner. Nothing was too much trouble and we much enjoyed the friendliness of all our hosts - and the other guests. As Europeans, breakfast was a refreshingly healthy and delicious change from what we had been experiencing thus far in our journey through New England - it was great. The location was good and the entire five days allowed us to have a very relaxing and enjoyable rest. Thank you.

Room Tip: Despite being at the front, the upstairs rooms do not have too much traffic noise during the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amherst, ma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We enjoyed a splendid dinner, with a fresh, tasty, beautifully designed salad, perfectly cooked duck with the crackling on the side and a light, silken orange sauce, and a creme brulee that was one of the best we've had. Our hosts were gracious and informative. The inn is charming--we didn't stay there but it looks comfortable. Handsome chickens and an impressive rooster wandered through the lovely grounds. We'll certainly come back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We have been returning to the Squire Tarbox Inn for almost twenty years. What we like is the charm and simplicity of the rooms (quality bedding, albeit the bathrooms can be small, but it is an historic country inn), the spaciousness of the public rooms (among the largest of any B and B we’ve visited in New England), the friendliness of the hosts, the rural setting, and their really great breakfasts and dinners, and the honor bar. Farm fresh eggs are prepared to your liking and there is a range of healthy cereal options, fresh fruit, and tasty and fresh baked goods. When the inn changed owners about ten years ago, we were pleased because the new owners, Mario and Roni provided a more varied menu at dinner. Squire Tarbox does not pretend to be a high end gourmet restaurant. You go to Portland for that. They serve very good, well prepared, and tasty food, with local farm raised ingredients (in season).

This is an inn where you can go and relax, have good food at fairly reasonable prices, and not have to worry about “Where are we going to have dinner tonight?” In rural Maine, that can be a problem. So the combination of quiet, simple accommodations with good food is just the thing for us. No television anywhere, but they have recently added wifi. You can take a walk around the property down to the Westport River, watch the birds at the feeders, check out the goats and the free range chickens, and just relax. That’s the kind of place Squire Tarbox is and its style and ambience has kept us coming back over the years.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

I would like to quickly point out the potential this Inn has to offer.... but my recent visit fell short based on the cost for one night stay including dinner and breakfast. We stayed in a bedroom with a private bath located in the former barn just off the main house. We had dinner reservation and each enjoyed a drink before hand from their nonor-system liquor cabinet. We also shared a bottle of champagne with a couple that joined us, plus a glass of wine. $320 for out total stay, double occupancy, one night. The room accomodations were adequate and quaint, but nothing truly special. Dinner was decent but not truly special either. We had the chef's special of seared scallops and I know suspect from the tasted, they were frozen-at-sea scallops versus fresh dry packed scallops off the coast of New England. Seeing we stayed on the coast of Maine I expected fresh catch seafood, also surprisingly no lobster offered on the menu... were we actually in Maine? A bit of a disconnect for me Reading that the chef is recognized for his worldly training and levele of succes in NYC- I didn't experience anything but the average for food preparation, presentation and flavor. Breakfast was included in the cost of the room and it was decent. They have organic free range hens but the scrambled eggs prepared fell completely flat on flavor. The pastries were somewhat homemade and somewhat baked from frozen doughs, or thawed from frozen pastries - I'm guessing since the quality was just that. Having traveled in Europe, I paid similar price range for overnight stays and received outstanding customer service and quallity food. The Inn charged $75 per person for dinner - which included a soup or salad, main entree and dessert, Originally I was excited to stay at an Inn with such an acclaimed chef/owner - sorry it didn't work for me. I feel over charged for the value we received. The owners looked very worn out and they had just reopened for the season just a week earlier than our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SquireT, Owner at Squire Tarbox, responded to this review, May 9, 2012
So sorry to dissapoint, but a few clarifications....$320 was for everything....$152 for the room and a large breakfast for two, $75 for dinner FOR TWO, a half a bottle of nice champagne, and a few other drinks...Our dinners are an average of $40 per person, not $75. We do serve lobster upon request, but as EVERYONE ELSE serves it round here, we don't have it on the menu...Our scallops are NEVER frozen! My father IS a fabulous chef...this reviewer is a chef himself, and we know how critical they can get with each other ;)


And pastured eggs in spring do not taste like pastured eggs in summer....chickens eat bugs and greens to create these flavors, and in early spring, these are just starting to emerge, so not too much fabulous flavor yet...already in two weeks they are more yellow/orange than they were, and tasting richer!
Our rooms are anywhere from $85 a night to $199 for the largest rooms in peak season....this guest paid $152 for one of my favorite rooms, but taste is taste...we can't please all the people all the time, but we are clean, curtious and very hospitable....
Finally, I do have to defend my parents in the last comment the reviewer made....they look worn out??? Hovering between 60 and 70, I think they look fabulous, and REALLY don't feel this was a necessary critique of an inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

My wife and I ate Thanksgiving dinner at the Inn last year. This year we wanted to stay at the Inn as well as have dinner there. We are glad that we did! The Inn is a quiet country retreat with all the charm of an old home. Our room was spacious and the electric heated mattress pad was a nice touch. Our hosts were friendly and accommodating. As a Culinary Institute Of America graduate, we were really delighted with our Thanksgiving meal. We would highly recommend the Squire Tarbox Inn!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Squire Tarbox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Squire Tarbox

Address: 1181 Main Road, Westport Island, Wiscasset, ME 04578
Location: United States > Maine > Mid Coast Maine > Wiscasset
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Wiscasset
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Squire Tarbox Wiscasset, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Squire Tarbox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.