We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better options available” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Garden & Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Peppers Garden & Grill
101 Main, Winthrop, ME 04364
(207) 377-8877
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 12 Restaurants in Winthrop
Restaurant details
Winthrop, Maine
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Better options available”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The facility is nice, outside seating, a bar and dining room as well as a function room. Lunch is limited. Dinner has a better selection. They have changed management. Now the same offerings are in larger portions, but of less quality. Had breakfast there and what was described as light and fluffy pancakes were hard to cut with a knife, light & fluffy? We try it again every so often, and remember why we do not go back for a long time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South China, Maine
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Lunch today with a friend”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Restaurant is clean and the waitstaff was 'eh'...There seemed to be lots of seating and they even had tables outside (which we were not offered even though it's August in Maine and a beautiful day). For lunch the menu is VERY limited, just a one page offering of a few salads, burgers, and sandwiches. There are also a few 'pub' style appetizers but we settle for a shrimp salad and a chicken sandwich. Both were good and ample amount of food, especially since it was only lunchtime. I would probably rate the place higher but during the entire time we were there our waters were never refilled and the waitress seemed a bit uninterested in asking if we needed anything. The prices were what one would expect, not too high and not too low. Almost everything about this place was mediocre. My only other suggestion would be to have some music in the background. Something to liven the place up a bit!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Thursday Specials”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

WE went to Peppers for what we thought was Prime Rib special night, but found that was the next nite (Th and F) and we landed surf and turf night for $19.99. You can choose two main items for this price, not just surf and turf. We ordered strip steak and baked haddock and shared the meal, always too much food for one. The salad was a nice full fresh one with some of the best blue cheese dressing, a nice size piece of fish and grade A steak served with cooked broccoli and a nice light pasta with oil. The meal was good, service good and at 6pm very uncrowded. Next time well go on F or S for the delicious prime rib...wish they offered it every day!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Do not let some reviews make you miss a good time and meal.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We ate here Dec,13th 2012. resturant was clean and pleasant. My wife loved the broiled scollops .I had the seafood pie.We each had doggie bags for another meal.Thewaitress was great,boxing leftovers and even bagging them for us.We dine out often ,this was one of our better meals.It was certainly the best waitriss we have had latly.Sorry I missed her name We will certainly dine here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“How many ways can you spell awful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Second time we tried Breakfast on the weekend. Looked like they had teenage staff (if they even had a staff). As we waited at the "please wait to be seated" sign some young guy with a baseball hat told us to seat our self and a wait staff would be right with us.
Only two other parties were seated so I guessed it would not be long-----wrong. After 20 minutes we left. Never saw a wait staff person come into the room. As we walked by the bar area I observed the young girl who was the bar tender talking on her cell phone.
This was the second time this year we experenced awful service. Guess it will be the last time.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppers Garden & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Peppers Garden & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Garden & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.