We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for casual dining.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fast Eddies Drive-In

Fast Eddies Drive-In
1308 Route 202, Winthrop, ME 04364
207-377-5550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Winthrop
Restaurant details
Sun City Center, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place for casual dining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Fast Eddies is a fun place to have a meal with friends. The food is excellent and the atmosphere is 50's chic. Good meal at a reasonable price.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    7
    6
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Car hop service & drive-in food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

While vacationing in Maine, a friend & I just had to try Fast Eddie's since we're "of a certain age" and have fond memories of drive-in burger joints (A & W, etc.) back in the day. The carhop was pleasant enough but not particularly animated or attentive. The food was pretty awful and gave me indigestion for the rest of the day. All the same, it was kind of fun to actually eat at a drive-in with carhop service. Definitely not worth a second trip though.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell,MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Back again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I reviewed Fast Eddies a year ago. This time we showed up with two cars, 6 adults and 6 kids under 7. They handled us flawlessly. We had two waitresses who served us promptly and efficiently. (It would have been faster if they had roller skates!)

The bottom line is we all got what we wanted and it tasted great. Try the onion rings if you have not had them. They were some of the best we have had. For what you get the price is reasonable.

We will be back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“A fun place to go on a warm summer night...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We live close by, and over the last few years were never much impressed. However last season saw a vast improvement in the quality of the food, and this year they have followed suit. It's a drive-in so don't go in thinking your getting gourmet....but if you looking for a stuffed lobster roll for under $10 this is the place. Great yard and old fashioned playground for the kiddies...50's music playing, and on Weds. nights lots of antique cars. It's fun, and reasonable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell,MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nothing like a local drive in!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We decided on an impromptu visit to Fast Eddies after running errands in Winthrop. We pulled in under the shade of the canopy. The sign says "Lights on for service", but since most cars these days have their lights on on waitress came right out. Unfortunately she was not on roller skates.

The menu is up on a board and has your typical fast food items. I would say in general the prices were quite reasonable.

We chose the Fried Haddock sandwich which comes with fries. It was a good size piece of fish and lightly battered. We both said it was delicious. I will admit that the fries were very good as well. I had a chocolate shake which was thick and creamy but slightly overpriced for what I got.

Unlike the 50's Fast Eddies does accept credit cards. The grounds are very neat and clean. The service was exceptional.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fast Eddies Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to Fast Eddies Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fast Eddies Drive-In, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.