We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real and Tasty!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tubby's Ice Cream

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tubby's Ice Cream
41 Main Street, Winthrop, ME 04364-1484
(207) 377-3340
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Winthrop
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Real and Tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a great place for wonderful Ice Cream in many delicious and unique flavors!
But - The food is particularly good. Everything is very fresh and well prepared. Even the Chicken Fingers which are usually from a freezer are fresh and prepared in house. Very juicy and tasty. Steak sandwiches are about the best this side of Philadelphia - and - the Lobster Roll is full of meat and served on a nicely grilled roll. A great place for a meal for the family or just a quick ice cream snack.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    13
    1
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St-Nicolas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were suggested to try their lobster rolls and finally did! They are simply delicious! They are exactly how they should be prepared: lobster and mayo served on a toasted bun. That's it! Portions are generous and served with kettle cooked chips and a homemade cole slaw.

Anyone who likes lobster rolls really should give them a try!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwell,MA
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“We tried it because it was recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Tubby's has a nice stand with some very interesting flavors. The menu describes each flavor so I spent a lot of time reading.

The ice cream was good. The service was fine but in the end we all felt it wasn't quite as good as their competitor up the road about 45 minutes.

We will be back when we are in the area.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Run.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The service here is HORRID. We've been a few times, each time trying to give them another chance. That was a year ago, and everytime we went it was slow, and I mean SLOW and then the order is usually wrong.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Betthel maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not just good ice cream, but great meals as well”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

After enjoying Tubby's ice cream stand in Wayne Maine for years, we went to the new Tubby's restaurant hoping it would prove to be as good as the charter site. Well it was, but not just the ice cream, burnt sugar with fudge sauce, but the meal we had, fish and chips, cole slaw was excellent, as was the service. The owner Skip was amiable and so were the servers. We heartily recommend this eatery.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tubby's Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Tubby's Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tubby's Ice Cream, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.