We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most beautiful home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilson Lake Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Wilson Lake Inn to your Saves list
Wilson Lake Inn
183 Lake Road, Wilton, ME 04294   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wilton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Simi Valley, California
1 review
“The most beautiful home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2010

We had a wonderful time during our stay. The rooms are very clean, the grounds are beautiful and the prices are reasonable. We had studio accomodations which worked well with our young children. The inn is right on the lake, which is gorgeous, with tables and barbeques. We invited extended family to barbeque by the lake with us. We spent the day barbequing canoeing, kayaking and swiming in the lake, we had a wonderful time. The canoes, kayaks and life vests are provided by the inn. The inn had coffee ready early every morning, my husband and I enjoyed our coffee sitting on the balcony enjoying our Maine morning. For anybody who wants to get away this is the place to go. We will be back.

The owners Susan and Tom were very welcoming and Davina at the front was very nice and accomodating. Thank you all.

Evelyn Boyer

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    60
    7
    0
    3
See reviews for
116
118
21
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lynnfield, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

I stayed here with my husband for a few days in July. My room was both clean and comfortable and it included a full-sized refrigerator and stove, which was a nice convenience. The highlight, however, is the expanse of green lawn bordered with flower gardens leading down to beautiful Lake Wilson. The Inn offers kayaks and a canoe to their guests to use on the lake. I found both the hosts and the other guests I met to be friendly and helpful. I would certainly recommend Wilson Lake Inn to my friends.

Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Helpful, friendly, accommodating. The grounds are lovely. The lake is swell; there are a few boats and you can use one. The room was nice enough. Fridge, good bed, nice bath. We liked staying there. Dinner in town was great. If you are on you way to/from Bangor on Hwy 2, why stay in some run-of-the-mill chain motel when you can stay here instead!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

Checked in after 8:30 PM and went to a recommended Italian restaurant right down the street (it was very good and we got 10% off with our room key). The hotel was quiet and the room had some good features. The sink was outside the toilet /shower area, there is a small refridgerator and the beds are queen size. The rooms were clean and we just had to ask for the hair dryer and a few more towels - these were given to us immediately. In the morning we found out that the conoe/kayaks were available for free - yes free, just have to sign them out. Lifevests are also provided!. So we went down to the lake and went out on them. The lake is clean and refreshing. There are also a few chairs on the edge of the lake that are great to relax on, sit back and read a book or get some sun/shade. Our teens liked this too. A graet place to get away from the hussle and bussle and we wish we would have stayed more than one night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west gardiner
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2010

My husband and I can not thank you enough for the wonderful weekend we shared at Wilson Lake Inn. It was a pleasure to see your staff take pride in their jobs, the room was very clean, the grounds and gardens were a sight to behold. Tom and Susan are friendly and helpful. We tried the fly, dine and stay package, I would encourage everyone to try it. It is a breath taking view of the lakes, mountains and valleys. Thank you Susan for the DVD of our escape week.

Todd and Lisa Pierce, West Gardiner, Maine

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

We feared we had to settle for some old (dirty) motel on the highway in this part of Maine (that is: away from the coast) but Wilson Lake Inn is not that!
We were completely surprised by the beautiful gardens in front of the inn, very pleased with the warm welcome at the front desk, the free coffee and tea (in many flavors), the spacious and clean rooms (allthough not trendy but who cares!), the laudry-facility, but most of all we were very impressed by the large lawn at the back of the inn which has numerous seatingarea's, BBQ's, and best of all: a private dock in the lake with canoes, row-boats and plenty of life-jackets.
We loved it as did our 2-year old daughter.
And if you do plan to stay here: definitely follow their advise for dinner: the italian restaurant just a mile from the inn (I forgot their name) was also above our expectations! It definitely reminded us of our Italian vacations!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanwilsonlakeinn, Owner at Wilson Lake Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2010
Tom and I are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. The restaurant located downtown on Wilson Stream, that reminded you of your Italian vacation is Calzolaio Pasta Co. It is owned and managed by a local family, Tom and Rochelle Marcellino and opened last year.

We look forward to you next visit.

Susan Atwood and Tom Whalen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

My wife said we should plan a vacation just to come back to this hotel. That is some compliment.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilson Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lake Inn

Address: 183 Lake Road, Wilton, ME 04294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wilton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Wilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilson Lake Inn is located on the shore Wilson Lake, in the Western Lakes and Mountain region of Maine. Ideally suited, for the corporate traveler as well as families. You will feel at home at our unique and charming inn with affordable rates. Open year round. Call today for the best rates. Located only 3 hours from Boston, MA, 1.5 hours from Portland, ME, two hours from Bangor and 4 hours from Burlington, VT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Wilson Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lake Hotel Wilton
Wilson Lake Motel
Wilson Lake Inn Maine/Wilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilson Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.