We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilson Lake Inn

Save Saved
You added Wilson Lake Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wilson Lake Inn
183 Lake Road, Wilton, ME 04294   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wilton
upstate new york
1 review
“Location, location, location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2009

We keep returning to Wilson Lake Inn whenever we're on a hiking trip to Maine, even though I wish they'd kept the old name. It is really more of a motel than an Inn, since it does not offer any meals, not even breakfast. It is situated on a beautiful little lake, where canoes and kayaks are available without charge. There is comfortable seating by the lake and you can take a dip if you desire. The grounds are nicely landscaped with lovely flower beds and best of all, the rooms are scrupulously clean.
So yes in a way, it is more than a motel, and we plan to visit it again in 2009.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    231
    48
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
100
99
19
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Delaware
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

I stayed here for business for 2 weeks, I work for a company that has a site near by. The room was really nice, and the location near the lake was great too. Tom drew me a map of near by towns, and allowed me to go on a nice three hour drive in the mountains without the fear of getting lost. Tom and Susan are truly great people and I would not hesitate to stay here again in the near future for business or pleasure. I highly, highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a greta place to stay!!!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2009

As a contracting company doing work at a local mill,
we were looking for a clean location for our men to stay as we would be at the mill for several days,the men suggested the wilson lake inn because of the great setting and the clean rooms.So I checked it out and looked at 4 or 5 room types and was impressed at the neatness and the cleanliness of each and every room. You may think that contractors on the road will sleep anywhere ? well not really they love this place some of them even brought a fishing pole.... they want to go back.
SO JUST THINK WHAT A GREAT PLACE THIS WOULD BE IF YOU DIDN'T HAVE TO GET UP AND GO TO WORK AT 6.00 AM.
JIM C

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2009

It's always a gamble booking motels sight unseen on the internet, but the Wilson Lake Inn turned out to be perfect. I have stayed in all kinds of motels, hotels, inns, so forth and I have paid two or three times the price, but this place was inexpensive and super, super, super clean, with wonderful rooms, furniture, plush towels, etc. that you would expect to find in more expensive chains (and sometimes don't!). The staff are warm and welcoming. The location is wonderful, right on the lake with beautiful views. The motel is just a few minutes from Farmington, a little college town with some great restaurants and shops. If I am ever in the area again, and I may be involved in the college, I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Bedford, MA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2009

We ventured out from New Hampshire on our snowmobiles trying to copy past trips we have done in Canada where we "hotel hop" in a circle on our machines. However, the trip in the US was extremely dissapointing which had nothing to do with the hotels, thank goodness. The owners of Wilson Lake Inn were extremely helpful and went well beyond their obligations as resort owners, to point where they hunted down a tow company to pick 2 of us up 30 minutes away as I was broken down, and were towed to their hotel. They also went out of their way to make sure our husbands got in safely from across the lake on their snowmobiles.

If it weren't for the owners of the Wilson Lake Inn, the last day of trip would have been even worse, if that is at all possible.

Thank you so much for being there and going out of your way, you make a horrible trip as pleasant as it could be.

PS: They also drove us to a store close by the next morning so we could get breakfast as we had not vehicles and could not ride our snowmobiles anywhere to get anything.

Forever grateful,

Joanne & David Hudon
Jeff & Michelle Munroe

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanwilsonlakeinn, owner at Wilson Lake Inn, responded to this review, April 9, 2009
You are welcome. All of our staff strive to exceed the expectations of our guests and your feedback is greatly appreciated.

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Susan Atwood and Tom Whalen, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port jervis ny
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2009

We spent 5 days at Wilson Lake Inn, great time, good trail access
for snowmobiling. Rooms were very comfortable, clean and well priced. Owners were very nice and eager to meet all your needs.
We will definitely book a return visit.

  • Liked — quiet, location to lake, natural surroundings.
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2009

I travel a lot for business and pleasure, this placed was great. The rooms where very clean and up to date, and to top it off its right on the lake. The owners where very helpful with our special needs.

  • Liked — Very clean
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Still looking for a hotel?
Travelers also viewed these Wilton hotels
Comfort Inn & Suites 4.5 of 5 stars 124 reviews
Show Prices
View all 2 hotels in Wilton, ranked by popularity

Been to Wilson Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilson Lake Inn

Address: 183 Lake Road, Wilton, ME 04294
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wilton
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Wilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wilson Lake Inn is located on the shore Wilson Lake, in the Western Lakes and Mountain region of Maine. Ideally suited, for the corporate traveler as well as families. You will feel at home at our unique and charming inn with affordable rates. Open year round. Call today for the best rates. Located only 3 hours from Boston, MA, 1.5 hours from Portland, ME, two hours from Bangor and 4 hours from Burlington, VT. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Wilson Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wilson Lake Hotel Wilton
Wilson Lake Motel
Wilson Lake Inn Maine/Wilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilson Lake Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.