We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little bakery” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bakers Bench

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Bakers Bench
33 Brackett St, Westbrook, ME 04092-3302
207-856-7333
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 58 Restaurants in Westbrook
Cuisines: Bakery
Restaurant details
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little bakery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

This bakery is great! I love the pastry's and bread. The pastry's are made right in house from scratch with real ingredients. No oily greasy pastry but made with real butter! The pastry's are big and cheap too.
The only reason I did not give the bakery a five star is the sandwiches. They are good too, but a little bland and dry for my taste.
So go for the pastries, They are worth the trip.
Not a sit down place. They have chairs and tables but very basic. Also parking is limited, more of a run in, get your food and leave place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    3
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lyman,Maine
1 review
“Corn Chowder I give a ten”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

I have had there soups, chowders, sandwiches, and deserts many times I just work down the st. I would recommend very highly you will be satifified.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great chocolate bombs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

From what I have had so far has been pretty good. The chocolate bombs are great. The only turn off about this place is how junking/dirty it looks from the outside. They don't even try to hide the dumpster. Other than that they make great products from what I have tried so far. I will be back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saco
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Well worth it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I had their whoppie pie cake today for a birthday for one of my coworkers. It was over the top! I also purchased two creme horns. Flakey buttery pastry with a delicious filling! I have never had creme horns like these! Yummy!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbrook, Maine
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent quality products made with quality ingredients”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

It's easy to drive by on William Clark Drive and not notice Bakers Bench even tho it is painted a bright yellow. The pastries, muffins, Danish, etc. are excellent. Three kinds of brownies--with a fluffy raspberry, peanut, or mint topping. Chocolate bomb, cream puffs, and eclairs to die for. The cream puffs are filled with custard AND whipped cream. They also have croissants, scones, cookies, sandwiches, beverages. A few tables allow you to eat there. Excellent hot cross buns at Easter time, cream horns filled with raspberry cream at Valentine's Day and orange cream at Halloween. You can order pies for the holidays. Go early. Sometimes I stop in for a particular pastry, and they are out. If you are having a party, let them know ahead of time if you will be ordering a large quantity. They might be able to accommodate you.

Parking is a problem. If cars are parked efficiently, there are 3 nose-in places. It is dangerous backing out onto Brackett Street because the bakery is right on the corner of William Clark Drive. Best to park on the street.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bakers Bench also viewed

 

Been to Bakers Bench? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bakers Bench, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.