We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Little Pub in Westbook!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Frog and Turtle

The Frog and Turtle
3 Bridge St, Westbrook, ME 04092-2201
207-591-4185
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Frog and Turtle is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #14 of 58 restaurants in Westbrook
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main St.
Description: What is a gastro pub?” Gastronomy is the study of preparing and consuming food. A pub is a neighborhood spot for affordable food and good times. When you combine the two you get a neighborhood spot with a focus on food prepared from scratch with fresh ingredients.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Sweet Little Pub in Westbook!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I've been here twice and have not ever been disappointed. This is a really good place and they know how to cook! Wonderful seafood chowder to start things off, a nice selection of wine and drinks, and heavenly dinner food. I'm attaching photos of the Shepherd's Pie Crepe, Braised Chicken Crepe with Mushrooms, Seafood Stew, and the Blackened Salmon with Fried Artichokes. I am fond of the atmosphere in this place, and it always seems clean and tidy. The wait staff are appropriately attentive, and do not hover needlessly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

61% Recommend
    18
    18
    11
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Portland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not like they used to be.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I was excited to go...since I hadn't been in a couple of years and remember the food being good. I was, however, sadly disappointed on a recent Fri night. Not sure how or why the quality of food and service could drop so hugely, but it did. The service was slow and confused. The timing of things was weird. Entrees coming out as appetizers. And the food was mediocre. Keep an eye on the check. Gratuity had been added, but this was not communicated to anyone, which resulted in more confusion.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We have eaten at F&T a number of times since it opened a few years ago. Each visit has been slightly less interesting than the previous. The menu has become very middle-of-the-road after starting out with lots of interesting flavors, menu items, and ingredients. Quality is still good, although this time one of the four of us had a dish with cole slaw that the three of us who tasted it agreed was somehow "off", not at all good to taste and essentially inedible. We pointed this out to the front end manager, who took the dish away...and never returned with an explanation, an apology, or any effort to make things rights. This is not a good sign.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gorham, Maine
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food, slow service on a slow night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our first trip to Frog and Turtle. We were seated by a hostess and then waited a long time for anyone else to come to our table. When our waiter finally came over, we started with the charcuterie plate,which consisted of a liver pate, about 4 small duck slices, and another pate which was coarser than the first, accompanied by hard, thinly sliced toast. All 3 tasted good. My entree was a Statler breast of chicken w/oriechietti pasta, bits of asparagus in the oriechietti, and small pieces of tomato; there was a small amount of brown sauce with it. The chicken was left on the bone to enhance its flavor, I think, and it was very delicious. My husband chose one of the 2 dinner specials: duck leg confit with fingerling potatoes as well as some meat which appeared to be barbequed. His dish was excellent and also came w/sauce. Finally, we shared one creme brulee. We both found this dessert to be rather soupy as though it might have stayed in the refrigerator too long before the top was browned. The top appeared overly browned and too chewy. I really enjoy creme brulee and have it frequently but this was not the best I have ever had. All in all, the entrees were really great and we would visit again to try other dishes. We found the prices rather high but well worth it. While we dined, a good two-man combo played blues and we found this music quite pleasant with our meal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great pub style restaurant with delicious food. The waiters are knowledgeable and helpful- very professional. The prices are higher then many of the local restaurants but the quality is much higher as well. I definitely recommend the Frog and Turtle!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Frog and Turtle also viewed

 

Been to The Frog and Turtle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Frog and Turtle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.