We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful ocean view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seaside Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in West Tremont
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaside Cottages
Save
You added Seaside Cottages to your Saves list
41 Gunlow Pond Road, West Tremont, ME 04612   |  
Hotel amenities
Atkinson, New Hampshire
1 review
“Beautiful ocean view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We stayed at Paul's Cottage on the advice of a friend in May 2012, and liked it so much that we returned in May 2013. No matter what the weather, the views are wonderful. One of my favorite things is to lie in bed on a rainy day in the second floor bedroom, reading and looking out the window at the ocean. Because we go in late April or early May, many area restaurants are not yet open. That is when the well-equipped and roomy kitchen really pays off. Besides having exactly what we like to eat, we save a lot of money over eating out.
There are some nice walks in Acadia National Park nearby. We also like to walk on Acadia's carriage roads, which are a bit of a drive, but well worth it. We'll be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have stayed at Seaside Cottages for several years. Some years we have stayed at Pinelodge and other years at Cedarledge. The setting is serene; looking out at the Bay and watching the lobster boats is incredibly relaxing. Jay and Kathy are fantastic hosts. Everything is always ready for us and they are extremely attentive to everything down to the smallest detail. Seaside is close to hiking trails, shopping, and everything that we enjoy and need. We plan to go back as often as our schedules will allow.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake City, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at Paul's Cottage this past February. Everything we needed was available to us within the walls of our beautiful cabin. Plenty of firewood, modern amenities in the kitchen (so jealous of the stove!), puzzles and Scrabble and comfortable linens. Each thing we thought "I wonder if..." we found.
The location is truly breathtaking - I took so many pictures my iPhone was full. Whatever the weather there are views to be had. We took many walks to the quiet beach and enjoyed sitting on the deck watching the sun rise and set.
This was our second trip to Seaside, having spent a week several summers ago at Aldernest Cottage with family. This was the perfect place for two families traveling together - as the website had promised. Everything we needed was there, and there was enough separation not to feel like we were in each other's space.
My sister-in-law and I trekked the path to the bay each morning and drank our coffee on the rocks watching the birds and crashing waves.
Really love this side of the island, but if you were looking to be right on top of tourist locations you will have a car ride each time you want to get there.
We are looking forward to using the free island bus next time we are up in the summer.
This is one of those rare places where you will be happy as a family or as a couple.
Can't recommend it enough!
(PS - the hosts are great too!)

Room Tip: Aldernest is good if you are traveling as two parties, Paul's Cottage is perfect for the splurge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

With the amenities provided, Seaside Cottages feels like it's a home away from home. For the price, you cannot go wrongs, especially since you'd spend several times as much at a comparable hotel. Plus, it's right on the water, a huge plus! The owners are as sweet as can be too.

Room Tip: They have 4 cottages to choose from, one with two separate floors to provide 5 rentals to choose fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garrison, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This is a beautiful location with access to all that Mount Desert Island and Acadia National Park have to offer. Bring your bikes, your kayaks, your hiking boots and never lack for new and exciting adventures. The cottages are clean and quite functional, private, comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We've stayed in both Pinelodge and Cedarledge cottages and cannot fault either of them. No rusty can openers or chipped plates here! Jay and Kathy do an excellent job in caring for these lovely cottages and maintain and equip them to a high standard. Our children love to play out on the grass or wander down to the rocks and it's safe for them to do so. And the view! Wow! You cannot beat waking up to seeing the ocean directly out of your window, having your morning coffee or tea sitting on the deck and just gazing at the view.
We like the absence of the tv, the kids didn't miss it. And we appreciate the presence of the ipod speakers and the wi-fi.
We like being on the quieter side of the island. Southwest harbor has some great places to eat, a fantastic library (enjoyed by my avid 9 year old reader!). Plus there's some great bike trails and walking trails too.
Jay and Kathy are great hosts - they are there if you need them, but leave you alone to enjoy your vacation. We are disappointed that we can't make it to Acadia this summer as we're oversees but we'll be back just as soon as we can. Seaside cottages are a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seaside Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaside Cottages

Address: 41 Gunlow Pond Road, West Tremont, ME 04612
Location: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > West Tremont
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in West Tremont
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seaside Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.