We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If I could give Jonah's a six out of five, I would” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jonah's, Whale Beach

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Whale Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Jonah's, Whale Beach
Save
You added Jonah's, Whale Beach to your Saves list
69 Bynya Rd, Whale Beach, Pittwater, New South Wales 2108, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Whale Beach B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“If I could give Jonah's a six out of five, I would”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I just can't fault Jonah's, from the gracious and friendly staff, the phenomenal cocktails, the million dollar setting and views, the delicious food and wonderful ambience.

Love it. I hope to be back the next time I'm in Australia.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    29
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
10
96
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were very excited to spend the weekend at Jonah's to celebrate my husband birthday having heard plenty of good things about it all. Unfortunately it didn't go so well for us. It started just after we checked in and went to use the bathroom. The toilets were not clean and I mean not clean. Not acceptable for a property of that level. Anyway we decided not to make a big deal about it and went to have a few cocktails at the bar. Cocktails were delicious and the atmosphere by the fireplace was quite nice until 6pm and 3 different staff members came and ask us one after the other if we wanted to go and sit at our table for dinner. 3 times just passed 6pm while we had made a booking for 8pm. Relax! We are here to have a good time and not be interrupted 3 times in 30 minutes to be rushed to our table. Dinner was only ok, our meals were good but nothing special and the atmosphere wasn't great either. Too much light and noise which is more like a family atmosphere than a relaxing one. We woke up in the morning to amazing views and we spotted a couple of whales in the ocean which was quite amazing. Breakfast was another story when I found a hair in my fruit salad! That is not acceptable anywhere and certainly not in that type of restaurant for a breakfast worth $50. They apologised for both incidents but did not even offer a discount or anything!! I got a phone call from the Manager the following day apologising and asking me a thousand questions and saying he's sending me a voucher for a free breakfast and will call me back in the next 2 days to make sure I have received it. None of this happened!! Extremely disappointed when we spend over $1000 in not even two days. Bad bad bad.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JonahsWhaleBeach, General Manager at Jonah's, Whale Beach, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
We rarely receive negative feedback. Jonah's has 84 proud years of happy customers to show for this. I hope you would agree that in these demanding times a property such as ours would not survive very long if we did not maintain high standards.

Jonah's naturally, like all top quality properties places a high premium on the cleanliness of our rooms and their immaculate presentation. Our systems have unfortunately fallen down in your case and the relevant staff member has been briefed on this one off problem.

I note that we have already dealt with the issue re breakfast via your comments in the Restaurant section of this web site.

I hope this unfortunate experience does not prevent you from returning to our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We went here this morning and I will not be going back.

Firstly, we were late for our breakfast reservation, which I understand is faux par in itself, but we were treated like scum from the moment we walked in. We were told quite sternly that We Were Late! And then directed outside so they could set our table - we were then rudely greeted by another wait staff who said ' can you order now because the kitchen closed at 9.30!' After explaining that we thought our reservation was for 9.30 instead if 9am - they still were not able to adjust the way they were treating us.

The food, was brought out quickly and taken away in the same fashion and was certainly not up to the standard that it used to be.

The views are stunning but that doesn't over shine the bad service and food!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for my brothers wedding in March this year.... We were at Sydney for 3 weeks, most of which we stayed in a rental house but for one night we stayed at this stunning hotel as my brother was getting married on the grounds :) We were allowed an early check in because we were wedding party, room was absolutely amazing, huge bed, jacuzzi, huge balcony with the most amazing views.... The wedding took place outside of hotel, overlooking the sea which was amzing, then we went to the reception area, we had the most delicious meal ever, an absolute treat. The full wedding was free and the staff were so attentive and made sure our glasses were never empty. Overall one of the nicest hotels ive ever stayed at, and will definately return if im fortunate enough to go back to Sydney....

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Great location and spectacular views. Everything was excellent from the food all the way through to the massage therapist.

I highly recommend the Pear and Ginger martinis. The salmon was phenomenal as well.

Room Tip: We were in the private quarters that had its own shared lounge area/pool and huge terrace. Would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This is to thank all concerned for a wonderful stay at your retreat this past weekend.
We did the whole package; seaplane, accommodation, dinner and breakfast and it was truly a first class experience.
Our room was just perfect, the amenities, cleanliness etc were of a very high standard.
The view of course is wonderful but most of all we would like to thank the staff who were all so professional, warm and friendly.
Particularly to Rachel who was our waitress on the Saturday night at dinner, she was excellent, she was so charming and went out of her way to make the whole experience even more enjoyable for us celebrating our 15 year anniversary.
The dinner was exquisite, the oysters with assorted garnishes , the Mollaway with mushroom and veal sweetbreads, and the soufflé were all highlight’s with a wonderful selection of top class wines of which we enjoyed a Sancerre.
We’ve recommended you to all our friends - truly a 5 star experience that we will always remember and look forward to returning to one day.
Kind regards

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Just returned this afternoon from a night in Jonah's and as it seemed that the most common question being asked on here is whether it's worth the money.. We were pretty keen to find out for ourselves!
Our view.. Restaurant=definitely yes! Accommodation=close..but not quite!
it goes without saying that the property is idyllically situated above whale beach affording spectacular views which the beautiful grounds, terrace and restaurant take full advantage of!
Our evening in the restaurant was pretty much faultless.. Great cocktails, beautiful meal, extremely good service from very friendly, well informed, staff. The honey & thyme souffle is spectacular! Breakfast was actually even better watching humpbacks cruise past while enjoying some beautiful egg creations.. Flamenca eggs a standout!
We couldnt compliment the kitchen more highly!!
So, the accommodation.. The rooms are not massive, and i wouldn't say they are appointed to a true 5 star level but are very comfortable.. Maybe a few touches missing... Simple things, a couple of bottles of comp water wouldn't go astray..a cup to put your toothbrush in.. Picky? Maybe..
What was unfortunate for us being in room 8.. Which happens to be directly under the terrace, meant that as the staff were setting up this morning at about 7am we heard every movement of furniture etc..there was also a lot of noise in the corridor outside the room for whatever reason..
Anyway, we had a great time at Jonah's and absolutely loved the food and would highly recommend on this basis alone.. Is it great value for money.. No.. But it's only money and you definitely should not let that hold you back from experiencing this iconic spot!

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jonah's, Whale Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonah's, Whale Beach

Address: 69 Bynya Rd, Whale Beach, Pittwater, New South Wales 2108, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Pittwater > Whale Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Whale Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jonah’s Whale Beach is one of Australia’s most luxurious ocean retreats and the only Relais & Chateaux hotel in Sydney - the most prestigious hotel association in the world.The perfect beachside escape, Jonah’s offers an acclaimed restaurant, seven luxurious rooms, a penthouse and 'Jonah's Private', a secluded residence containing three stunning rooms. Luxurious and discreet, Jonah’s prides itself on its friendly and casual atmosphere and outstanding first class service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Jonah`s, Whale Beach Hotel Sydney

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonah's, Whale Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.