We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ogunquit River Inn and Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ogunquit River Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Ogunquit River Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Post Road, Wells, ME 03907 (Formerly Ogunquit River Plantation)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Wells
New Hartford, Ct
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Reasonable and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent a night there with my mom on our way to points further north. Our 2nd floor room overlooked the Ogunquit River, and you could see the beach and surf in the distance. Room was very comfortable, two double beds, small table and chairs, small refrigerator to keep our food cold was a bonus. Bathroom was very clean.

The young man at the desk when we checked in was very pleasant and handed us information on Ogunquitfest when we asked. When we asked about places for dinner, he referred us to a binder full of menus they had available but didn't make a recommendation (which was fine).

My one reservation would be the breakfast - hard boiled eggs must have been bought by the bucket of pre-cooked eggs...already peeled, strange flavor and a bit rubbery. Danishes, muffins, etc., all cut in half and somewhat stale. Coffee was nice and piping hot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    43
    21
    11
    7
See reviews for
32
61
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Grafton, Ma
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Just spent a night here and although the rooms are outdated, they were spacious and the view from our balcony was beautiful and tranquil and the cound of the waterfall in the background made it relaxing. Greeted very warmly at checkin and there was coffee and cookies in the lobby and free internet access. The bar, albeit tiny, offered drinks you could enjoy in your room. That was quite enjoyable late night. Great location to all restaurants and short drive into town. Breakfast was included and if you could overlook some things, was fine for coffee, juice, yogurt, banana and waffle. Not gourmet but enough to get you out the door so you could have lunch out in town. Was not aware the outdoor pool was heated or would have packed a bathing suit. Well worth the price and great for families.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the back water and woods. Tranquil!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This hotel is in a stunning setting on the river but with ocean views. We just spent two nights here recently and found the whole experience very good. We had an upper room which had lovely views, the room was clean and reasonably equipped. There was a heated pool and hot tub which we used and enjoyed.The only downside was the breakfasts - the only things hot were the waffles and coffee, the rest was pastries , bread etc. The staff were friendly and helpful. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Upper rooms are definately better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Breton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at Ogunquit River Inn. The property is well maintained,but they need to refurbish the rooms..old and musty smell. The front desk staff are very young but extremely polite and acommodating. Do not go for the free breakfast..very disappointing. They serve Begium waffles but expect you to cut these with plastic utensils (extremely cheap flimsy utensils).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I stayed here for one night recently, it is a nice inexpensive hotel, with some nice features, small but heated pool, fridges and microwaves in room, canoes and kayaks for rent. The staff was nice but my room was on the dirty-side, the sheets are ridiculous, all polyester. BUT DO NOT STAY ON LOWER LEVER Rooms, no balcony and there is a serious mold/mildew smell and it was acknowledged by the staff, can't find the source, etc. The breakfast is food, could use a bit more fresh fruit but generous..... So yes would stay here again, but only in an upper level room and I would make sure it was clean when I checked in....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magog, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed on for two nights in a double queen room.The stay was fine. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. The decor is a little outdated but the place is very clean! Most rooms have a glass door on the back side towards the river with chairs and we realy appreciated the view. The bathroom is large and the towels are clean but quite thin. The reception desk employees ares ok but nothing more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed for a few nights in both July & August. In July, stayed on the upper level balcony. Deck was shared with about 5-6 other rooms. In August, stayed underneath and had a balcony which was shared with only one other room. We preferred this setting, but was not put off by the shared balcony. Room was clean, full fridge and ample space. Pool was nice, quietly set in the rear of the property. Breakfast was just ok - maybe they could add a few more healthier options. Overall, a nice place to relax and stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ogunquit River Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ogunquit River Inn and Suites

Address: 17 Post Road, Wells, ME 03907 (Formerly Ogunquit River Plantation)
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ogunquit River Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ogunquit River Inn and Suites has 81 elegant rooms overlooking the Rachel Carson Wildlife Preserve, offering river and ocean views. We have an expanded complimentary continental breakfast and a free shuttle to the beach in season. Stay with us and enjoy our heated outdoor pool and hot tub or leave your car while you enjoy the beach. Come relax and unwind with us! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ogunquit River Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ogunquit River Plantation Hotel Wells
River Plantation Hotel Ogunquit
River Plantation Ogunquit
Ogunquit River Inn And Suites Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ogunquit River Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.