We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meh....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Billy's Chowder House

Billy's Chowder House
216 Mile Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4129
207-646-7558
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 58 restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Brooklyn, New York
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Meh....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Billy's is consistently consistent. I only ever go off-season, but the service is always mediocre and the chowder acceptable. This year, we so split a huge salad and some remarkably fresh and tasty fish and chips. Generally, I'm a steamers-in-Maine kind if girl, but l choose Billy's when I want a simpler dinner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    282
    139
    72
    30
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
conn
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Seafood was just ok, for the price I expected more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Went to Billy's on a recommendation and was slightly disappointed. Enjoyed the clam chowder. Ordered the baked stuffed lobster, it came to the table cool, stuffing was mushy and lacked any real taste. Baked potato was good though. For the steep price I didn't feel it was worth it. Had Maine blueberry ice cream which was good. Waitress could have visited the table after we started out entrees, maybe the baked lobster could have been corrected. Service wasn't as attentive as I would have liked, needed more drinks and was unable to order before the end of service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The name says it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

By the time we ate at Billy's chowder house, we were 5 days into our New England trip. So we had already dined on Chowder and lobster in Boston. Billy's chowder is by far the best. Huge pieces of clams in a delicate chowder and not overly thick. Perfect, is my assessment. In fact, my husband refused to order chowder for the rest of the trip because he knew he would be disappointed! The lobster was cooked to perfection and the coleslaw was a great addition. Our waitress was so friendly, which added to the whole experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good food and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stopped by this restaurant on my way to the beach late in the day. The menu is primarily sea food but there is also a bar for cocktails, beer, and wine. It appears this is a usual stop for locals in the area. The restaurant is located on the water just before Wells Beach . Nothing fancy but it does have a good flow of customers. Possible wait for a table. Food was good and prices fair. The chowder was excellent. Service in the bar area was good. No complaints, and I would go there again on my next trip to the Maine coast.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara NY
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fun place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Seems like a place for locals and visitors. Food was very good and we enjoyed our night.
It is a very busy place and parking it at a minimum but you can use their valet service

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's Chowder House also viewed

 

Been to Billy's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.