We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lobster at Billy's” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Billy's Chowder House

Billy's Chowder House
216 Mile Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4129
207-646-7558
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Takeout
Warrensburg, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lobster at Billy's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Seated right away, service was ok. Food was good , hot and fresh. We like the restaurant and the staff. Did not like that we had to keep reminding the waitress for things.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    175
    91
    36
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Lobster!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

As we hadn't booked a table we had a 10 minute wait.........No problem as the food was fantastic.Our chowder starter was delicious and the Lobster with pasta with so fresh and tasty
Portion size was huge and great value for money. Wish we had found this place earlier. Will visit again when in Maine

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laconia, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good bet for chowder and seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Great clam chowder! Had fried clam roll...real good. Nice clean place. They have a good frequent flier program too with their other two restaurants.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Brookfield
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“We Stop Here Every Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We travel to Maine frequently and a trip to Well's wouldn't be complete without a visit to Billy's Chowder House. Usually, we eat lunch here. My wife loves the chowder. I usually get the haddock. The seafood is fresh, prices are reasonable and the service is prompt and friendly. If you go, be sure to ask to sit on the porch overlooking the tidal area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Lobster!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Billy's is a fun place to eat. Our service was excellent and the lobsters were cooked just right and were very filling. Maine is no longer a bargain for lobster but Billy's prices were in line. There are many places to eat in Wells but Billy 's is one of the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Billy's Chowder House also viewed

 

Been to Billy's Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Billy's Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.