We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanfront Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Oceanfront Motel
37 Atlantic Ave, PO Box 386, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 hotels in Wells
New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

We stayed in an oceanview room with balcony. Our room was spotless and nothing whatsoever was "dated" - in fact, everything seemed brand new. The bed was firmer than we like, but just fine. Bed linens were nice and there were extra pillows. My only quibble was the motel issue towels (only two bath towels and tiny hand towels) which were skimpy and stiff (along with the toilet tissue). I would guess the maid would have left an extra towel if I'd asked, but I didn't bother.

Our room was beautifully appointed with lots of drawers and hangers. View from the balcony was absolutely spectacular. Drapes are nicely backed by light blocking fabric so the sun doesn't wake you up or heat up the room while you're out.

Rates are much more reasonable before July 4th and after Labor Day, which is when we like to visit the Coast of Maine - it's quieter, there's no traffic, the weather is nice enough, but everything is open.

  • Liked — Oceanside Location
  • Disliked — Nothing objectionable.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    23
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
16
32
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Akron OH
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

Pretty good. Great location its RIGHT ON THE BEACH (as opposed to near the beach). We stayed with three children. Staff was pleasant and friendly and provided good information on nearby restaurants (we printed menus off the www before visiting). Rooms were a bit dated, but clean. Heated pool didn't feel heated when we were there (last year).

Parking is tight, but no extra charge to park. When they say check in is two o'clock they mean it, but they did allow me to leave my car in the parking area while waiting to check in.

Overall, I'd recommend and I will return later this summer.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — pool didn't seem heated
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainville, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2007

I have been going to the Atlantic Motor Inn for quite a few years. It has become like my home away from home as I visit multiple times per year with my husband, family or friends.
The best rooms are the oceanfront with the private balcony...The sunrise is a great way to wake up in the morning.
Everyone at the motel is friendly and helpful.
Each year we see many of the same people, which tells us we are not the only ones that enjoy staying at the motel.
Atalntic Motor Inn is a nice family run establishment which I recommend to family, friends and anyone that asks about a nice place to stay in Maine.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

We stayed at the Atlantic Motor Inn from July 26th-July 29th and were very pleased with our choice of hotel. It is a wonderful location, with amazing views. We had a oceanview balcony room and we would highly recommend this room, our other travel mates had oceanview rooms and they were very pleased as well, but it was so nice to have the balcony to sit out on and relax. The staff keeps the Inn very clean. There is an outdoor pool that was also very nice, when we didn't want to go in the ocean. It's so convenient to be on the beach, no traveling or worrying about parking when going to the beach. It's in walking distance to restaurants and shopping. We had a wonderful time and would most certainly return.

  • Liked — The location to the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing, everything was great
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
231 helpful votes 231 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2007

We have stayed at the Atlantic Motor Inn for several years. Location couldn't be any better, the place is spotless, the pool is nice BUT the prices are getting up into the stratosphere. $250 a night for an oceanfront room is ridiculous. In fact, just about everything in Maine is getting ridiculous......restaurants and motels especially. I hope Maine doesn't price itself out of people's range. It's well on its way. though.

  • Liked — being right on the beach, cleanliness
  • Disliked — price too high
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

We went to Wells Beach for a three day weekend with no reservations anywhere. Ended up checking out this motel. The woman at the desk could not have been any nicer. She showed us the three rooms she had available with ocean front views. They were all excellent. We stayied on the first floor and the room was nice and clean and airy with a beautiful view of the ocean. High tide must of been 30 feet from our deck. Watching the sunrise from our king size bed was heaven. We will go back.
They also have a pool that is seasonal with a nice deck around it.

  • Liked — Ocean View
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Motel

Address: 37 Atlantic Ave, PO Box 386, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 hotels in Wells
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Oceanfront Motel is a direct oceanfront motel on beautiful Wells Beach, Maine. Watch the sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean without ever leaving the comfort of your bed. Enjoy spectacular ocean vistas from your own private balcony, cool-off in the outdoor pool with expansive sundeck or relax on 7-miles of sandy beach. Spacious wonderfully appointed and renovated guest rooms and suites with air-conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, balconies and more. Family-friendly, family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Atlantic Oceanfront Motel Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Atlantic Oceanfront Motel to your Saves list