We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea Surf Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanfront Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Oceanfront Motel
Save Saved
You added Atlantic Oceanfront Motel to your Saves list
37 Atlantic Ave, PO Box 386, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Wells
New Brunswick
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Sea Surf Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Conveniently located a few extra miles from Maine Shopping Mall, Portland, this hotel has become a favorite! A walk on the beach at sunset relieves accumulated stress. It is worth the extra miles and expense; especially out of season rates attract.

Room Tip: Room #9 had a balcony looking over the sea. There was a stairs to climb (second floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    27
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
19
36
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
York, NY
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Stayed the last week open for the season. Outdoor pool closed, no big deal since it was very cold. Indoor parking a bit tight and low clearance for my pickup, not a big deal but worth considering, especially during crowded dates. No coffee service available in the lobby, no breakfast and such. What you pay for is a very nice, very clean room overlooking the Ocean. Even in the off season, these rooms are not cheap. A better price than the Lafayette just up the street, but, given the amenities, and the very low occupancy, it seemes to be a little much to me.. Friendly staff. Good beach access.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conshohocken, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We love the location of this motel it is right on the beach in Maine and October weather is usually nice enough for beach strolls close to many antique shops and good restaurants so go and enjoy! Also not too far to Portland which has a great shopping area on commercial street

Room Tip: Again second floor. Nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Right on the beach, clean, and a nice heated pool to dip in when you find the ocean too cold! We had a suite with a mini-fridge, which is nice when you spend a week somewhere, as you can keep some drinks and snacks in the room. My relatives and I have stayed there a couple of times before, so we went back without hesitation. They have done some renovations over the last year, and some of the furniture and stuff in the room looked brand-new.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012 via mobile

We found the Atlantic Oceanfront Motel to be a great place for our family of four. The two boys - and we - loved the wonderful beach. Once high tide was coming in, we grabbed our stuff and rushed to the nic hotel pool. Our poolside room was nice and big, spotless clean and even had partial seaview ;-) We are definitely recommendinqg this place. Lucky us we found it!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

This is a very convenient spot to stay because it is directly on the beach in Wells, Maine. The room was very clean and the doulbe beds were small, but very comfortable. The ladies we met that cleaned our room were fabulous; friendly and helpful.

They have one parking spot for each toom here, and the parking is VERY tight.

The front desk was less than helpful. The lady who checked us in was grumpy, at best. She was quick to let me know how much she works and does not get to enjoy the beach. Not a happy person at all....

Do not talk at the top of the stairs to the beach from the second floor of the motel, or you will get yelled at. Same grumpy front desk lady told another person and I to move along. We were having a five minute conversation; exchanging pleasantries and being nice to each other. It was about 8:30 pm. We were not being loud, we were talking in normal voices, outside, at the top of the stairs to the beach. The grumpy front desk lady was rude and it was rather upsetting.

Other then the grumpy front desk person, which truly bothered me, this is a nice spot.

Room Tip: We had room 21, not an ocean view, but just steps from the stairs to the beach. We had two windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

If you are coming to Maine this hotels view cannot be beat. We arrived in Maine when Tropical Storm Beryl was wreaking havoc on the area. We were walking down the beach and we saw the hotel right on the beach, and decided to walk in to see if they had any rooms. Luckily for us, they had openings. The rates were reasonable for the location as we were there right before the busy summer season. Once we got in our rooms, the view of the ocean was absolutely stunning!!!!! Our balcony faced the beach and at high tide the ocean came right up to the hotel. The rooms were charming and the beds comfortable.

They do have a very strange smoking policy. We understand that it was a non smoking room, and we had no problems smoking outside, but once we walking into the room noticed big signs on the balcony that there would be NO SMOKING on the balcony or immediate eviction and possible prosecution. That seemed a bit harsh. This is the first balcony hotel that I have ever heard this policy so if you are a smoker and expecting to wake up in the morning and have a cigarette with your morning coffee, don't stay here. If you can hold out smoking however, the views from this room are breathtaking. I am a respectful smoker and don't to feel prosecuted for smoking outside. So you have to weigh the stunning views with the smoking policy before you stay.

Room Tip: Definitely worth the extra money to make sure you get a balcony room versus an ocean view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantic Oceanfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanfront Motel

Address: 37 Atlantic Ave, PO Box 386, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Atlantic Oceanfront Motel is a direct oceanfront motel on beautiful Wells Beach, Maine. Watch the sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean without ever leaving the comfort of your bed. Enjoy spectacular ocean vistas from your own private balcony, cool-off in the outdoor pool with expansive sundeck or relax on 7-miles of sandy beach. Spacious wonderfully appointed and renovated guest rooms and suites with air-conditioning, refrigerators, microwaves, balconies and more. Family-friendly, family owned and operated. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanfront Hotel Wells
Atlantic Oceanfront Motel Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantic Oceanfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.