We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Start your day off right at Congdon's” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Congdon's Doughnuts

Congdon's Doughnuts
1090 Post Road, Route One, Wells, ME 04090
2076464219
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Description: We have a full service dining room as well as take out area and a drive thru. Our specialty is our homemade doughnuts like grandma used to make. We also have a wide selection of breads, pastries, muffins, mixes, and whoopy pies!!! We serve breakfast and lunch from 6am - 3pm. Open 7 Days a week in warm season, Thurs-Sunday in cold season. Check out our website or call for current hours.
Wells, ME
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Start your day off right at Congdon's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

What's for breakfast? Try Congdon’s Doughnuts Family Restaurant & Bakery in Wells, Maine. Congdon's is a double whammy business on Route 1 in Wells. You can get in line or drive through to get award winning donuts every morning. Or, you can sit down to a delicious and varied breakfast menu in their restaurant. Congdon's friendly wait staff welcomes you, brings you coffee or tea, takes your order, and gets it out to you as quickly as possible. You can find all the regular breakfast fare served in a cheery and efficiently run atmosphere. We're locals and this is our number one breakfast choice. As a bonus, Congdon's also has a great lunch menu. Put it on your must do list when vacationing in southern Maine. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    502
    124
    48
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
northampton
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“donuts r them”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

a must stop when in the area for donuts, even to bringing donuts back home when leaving the area for family, during the season open early and closed mid afternoon, also decent breakfast spot, food good but could be served hotter,coffee constantly refilled, friendly staff,popular may have to wait to get service

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Real Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Donuts the way they used to be--big and excellent. Try a scone--all fresh ingredients. The Boston Creme donut is killer good.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Without a doubt, the best doughnuts you will ever have!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I've eaten homemade doughnuts at many different local doughnut shops across the country from old-fashioned family shops to trendy urban doughnut bakeries. Undoubtedly, these are the best. This is no Tim Hortons/Dunkin Donuts/Krispy Kreme. The donuts aren't too sweet and have a pillowy soft texture to them. The fillings and toppings are fresh and delicious. My favorite donuts here are the blueberry-filled and the raised sugar, but I haven't had any donuts that are bad. Beware, though, that there are no preservatives in these donuts so they have a very short shelf-life (only a few hours). They are so good, though, that I don't think you'll be worrying too much about that!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Deerfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best chocolate frosted and glazed crullers ever!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We get donuts here ever time we come to Maine on vacation. We never get anything but the chocolate frosted and the glazed crullers because they are just sooooo good. I've been coming here since I was a kid and my dad since he was a kid. I always get up and head out about 7am to get them and there is alway a line (in July that is)...the line is always to the door but it moves quickly. The service is friendly and efficient.
Never had breakfast there...can't get past the donuts!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Congdon's Doughnuts also viewed

 

Been to Congdon's Doughnuts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Congdon's Doughnuts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.