We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As good as advertised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joshua's

Joshua's
1637 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4608
207-646-3355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
York, Maine
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“As good as advertised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

After hearing about Joshua's for a long time, we finally ate there last night with two other couples and were extremely satisfied. Our entire party agreed that the food and service were both wonderful. My meal consisted of the beef brochette appetizer, lobster pie entree, fudge pie dessert, and a few martinis. Each course was better than the one before (and the first was very good!) The swordfish, haddock, and lamb dishes all were eye appealing and thoroughly enjoyed by my wife and friends. This morning's trip to the gym to work off the calories will be well worth it! We will certainly be back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    24
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Craryville, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“From Atmosphere to Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This was the second time we had dinner at Joshua's, by far it is the best in the area. We loved the old farm house, atmosphere was cozy and very inviting. The service was exceptional, Capt and crew is how the tables are managed, attentive to needs and very friendly. As far as the food goes, my wife stated that it would be worth the 3 hour drive to eat here. From appetizers, soups (onion soup 10 out of 10, awesome) and entrees (stuffed chicken breast to pork loin) you can't do any better, compliments to the Chef for an incredible meal. Then time for dessert, homemade ice cream, to die for, well done......not overly priced, fair and truly worth ever penny spent, one of the best restaurants in Wells or anywhere we've been.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Joshua’s Earns Its High Rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

During our three-day stay in Kennebunk, our innkeeper highly recommended having dinner at Joshua’s in Wells. Joshua is a great chef, his dad raises great produce, and his mother’s Fudge Pie recipe is awesome. Our delicious meal was wonderful. The decadent Fudge Pie topped with a scoop of Joshua’s homemade mint ice cream was amazing!

The owners said that the Bushes have eaten there several times. Make a reservation so you won’t be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“American cuisine at its very best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Every year, we return to the Maine coast to catch the colours of its fabulous fall season. Our visits to New England just wouldn’t be right if we didn’t eat at Joshua’s at least twice, while we’re there. The restaurant is located in a 1774 traditional house. Joshua’s mother, Barbara, will greet you at the door, take your to your table, and you’ll notice her throughout the evening as she discreetly manages the dining room and oversees everything. The freshest seafood, the best bio vegetables (directly from Joshua’s father’s farm), and the best cuts of meat are carefully selected and prepared. The vegetables alone would justify a visit to Joshua’s. And some of the appetizer’s could also, alone, rate a visit. The house duck pâté, for example, or the oak grilled assorted mushrooms tossed in herbed truffle butter are treats we never miss, year after year. The Atlantic haddock topped with a caramelized onion crust is truly excellent. As is the line-caught flounder that Joshua adds to the menu once a year, in autumn, over window lasting just a few days. Red meat lovers would do well to try the pork tenderloin or the filet mignon for a truly memorable experience. The wine list is good and the American or foreign wines are affordable. Joshua bakes his own breads (yes, that’s plural) and pies. And he always has homemade ice cream on the menu. The restaurant is always full, so it’s best to reserve well ahead of a visit. A large parking lot can accommodate all visitors.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ogunquit, Maine, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Special Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We have been there twice now and it has been fabulous both times. The food is absolutely delicious and the staff is excellent. It is a little more expensive but it is well worth it!!!......We intend to go there again before the year ends.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joshua's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joshua's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.