We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service, nice atmosphere.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Joshua's

Joshua's
1637 Post Rd, Wells, ME 04090-4608
207-646-3355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Rigaud, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service, nice atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

We reserved Joshua's for our "fancy" dinner on our annual trip to Maine and we were not disappointed. The service was friendly and discreet, the food was excellent (I still dream of the maple walnut pie) and the wine list was more than satisfactory. Highly recommended and I will definitely return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    337
    24
    12
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A special dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

My husband surprised me with a birthday dinner here and it was wonderful! We both commented that the entire experience was one of the best overall we have had . From the greeting to the service, menu, food and cozy room - it was such a treat !

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I reviewed Joshua's last year and gave it 5 stars and raves. I returned for dinner last night but did not have the same great experience. A big disappointment was that there were hardly any vegetables on our plates, and I had previously considered that to be one of the best things about Joshua's. The swordfish, a special, was underdone and had little flavor and a less than pleasing texture. The homemade breads and dessert, caramel ice cream, were very good. Have to take away a couple of stars for the entree and lack of vegetables, and hope that it was just an off night at Joshua's, especially given the prices of the entrees.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumming, Georgia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This restaurant was highly recommended to us and we were not disappointed. Not being from New England, you rely on recommendations from others. We had a delicious dinner and loved the creativity of Joshua and his staff. His wait staff are very knowledgeable and everything looked absolutely wonderful. This was one of the best meals we had while on vacation in Maine.

Dave & Jan Blankenship

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta,NJ
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I almost ate my plate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Been going to Maine for years and have driven by Joshua's to and from Wells. That will never happen again. Joshua's is a gem. Very attractive décor and extremely knowledgeable and friendly staff. When it comes to the food...everything is EXCELLENT!
From Joshua's homemade breads ( 3 different types were served that night ) to the wonderful entrees: We had Rack of lamb, stuffed chicken breast, and roasted duck. Every one was a knockout. Our salads contained fresh greens, radish & carrots from their garden.
Desserts included homemade ice creams and a key lime pie that my wife said was the best she ever tasted. Unfortunately, we found Joshua's at the end of our vacation and we will have to wait a year to return... it will be a long wait.
Better get a reservation, the place is very popular.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Joshua's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Joshua's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.