We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A memorable week, sitting by the lilypond watching ducks and herons or watching the colorfful sky at sunset on ourquiet porch.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seahorse Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seahorse Resort
1661 Post Rd, Rte 1, PO Box 97, Wells, ME 04090 (Formerly Sleepytown Motel & Cottages)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 hotels in Wells
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A memorable week, sitting by the lilypond watching ducks and herons or watching the colorfful sky at sunset on ourquiet porch.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We can all forget at times what vacation means, if you have come to think of vacation as time to be with people you love, in a place that reflects and enhances the joy of sitting around being happy, Seahorse may be your place. I have stayed alone and felt comfortable and at ease, I have MS and have found the cottages and beautiful grounds easy to get around. Being able to have a morning and evening walk among the trees and walkways kept so clean and obstacle free makes this a true find.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    17
    2
    6
    25
See reviews for
23
23
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I made a nice one day trip to Maine and stayed at the Seahorse Resort. We stayed in the motel section which the room was very nice, clean and well decorated. The grounds are very nice and inviting for a family. The new owners are wonderful people and are planning on continuing with the renovations. We plan on staying again next season!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Seahorse's new owners did a great job improving the place. The rooms and cottages are clean ans spacious. Kitchen well equipped with pots, pans, dishes and coffee maker (filters included). Grounds with amazing mature weeping willows. We stayed in cottage 71, 2 adults and 2 childrens, just in front of the very safe kids playground. We had a great week end.

Room Tip: Charcoal barbecue on site, no problems sharing with other parties.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gloversville
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

It appears the new owners who have taken over are trying to make improvements and update the rooms. The room was clean and and well kept. I would stay here again and I am considering renting a cabin for next summer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norton, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent a few days at the Seahorse, and it was wonderfully comfortable and relaxing. The new owners are turning this quiet little place into one of the best values in the area. The rooms and grounds have been dramatically improved. Forget about what you've heard about the old Sleepytown, this is an entirely new experience with new people in charge who actually care about making your stay a pleasant one. We've found our new summer spot. See you next year, Seahorse!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Granby, Connecticut
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Girls weekend in a cozy cottage was so wonderful because of new owners! Cottages have been updated ,super comfy new beds. Grounds and pool in great condition. Really a great ,reasonably priced cottage. Best location for visiting near by Attractions without parking issue. All the comforts of home and if you need anything for your kitchen just ask! Very relaxing and a great value. We will be back.

Room Tip: Cottages with small kitchens allow flexibility with families to avoid eating out every meal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Grove, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Seahorse Resort is right on Route 1, but once you leave the road you enter a peaceful beautiful and special place. On the land of the resort are motel rooms and cottages, surrounded by weeping willow trees, a lily-pond (the home of ducks and ducklings), a great pool and a little playground for the kids. The available accommodations are newly renovated with new beds, carpets, and fresh paint. The rooms and surroundings are kept immaculately clean. The owners and their staff couldn't be friendlier or more helpful. We stayed 2 weeks there, and enjoyed every moment of it. Its location is perfect - near the Ogonquit Playhouse, Kittery Outlets, the Nubble Lighthouse, lots of other tourist attractions, and hundreds of wonderful restaurants. Definitely a place to which we plan to return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Seahorse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seahorse Resort

Address: 1661 Post Rd, Rte 1, PO Box 97, Wells, ME 04090 (Formerly Sleepytown Motel & Cottages)
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 27 hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on 10 acres of lush property on U.S. Route 1 in Wells, Maine, the Seahorse Resort, Motel & Cottages is minutes away from four superb beaches, quaint antique and specialty shops, craft and art galleries, professional theaters, golf, fishing, amusements, museums and brand-name outlets. For the convenience of our guests we are located on the Trolley line. We offer grilles and picnic tables for outdoor cooking and socializing and a children's playground. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sleepytown Motel And Cottages
Sleepytown Motel & Cottages Hotel Wells
Sleepytown Hotel Wells
Sleepytown Motel Wells
Seahorse Resort Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seahorse Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Seahorse Resort to your Saves list