We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   900 Post Road, Wells, ME 04090   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #4 of 27 hotels in Wells
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“A good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for three nights in late October while attending a family wedding. Overall, a good experience. The hotel is right on US1, but far enough back form the road to avoid the road noise. The location makes the hotel easy to find, but there are plenty of pleace nearby with more interesting locations.

The room was just about what I would expect, and the bed was very good. They bathroom sink was in a style I 've been seeing more of recently, and one may apeal to some designers, but I do not care for. The sink is higher than normal, and the vanity top has a very wide front edge, which i find inconvenient for shaving. The front desk staff was friendly and efficient, and there are free, freshly-baked cookies late in the afternoon - provided you get there ahead of the kids! My nephew and his family really enjoyed the pool.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing. Don't know what waffle batter they are using, but the waffles tended to be somewhat chewy, rather than crispy - leaving them in the waffle iron about a minute after the "beep" made them somewhat better. One morning, the "sausage" served was closer in flavor and texture to a hot dog than a sausage. Perhaps they would do better to simply alternate days, serving bacon and some more traditional sausage type.

Value? Well, two of our nights were on a price that the bride and groom had negotiated, and the value that night was fine. On the other night, a Thursday when the hotel did not seem to be anywhere near full, we could not get the same price. On that night, I felt that the hotel was somewhat overpriced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    181
    88
    19
    7
    8
See reviews for
114
117
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Coppell
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

I booked a 1 night stay on a road trip to northern Maine. I specifically called the hotel to ensure I could get Southwest mileage for a double miles program they had in place. I was insured that they would give me the mileage and booked the hotel even thought it was $40 higher then any other rated hotel in the area. When I got there I was told no problem at check in. After check out I got an e mail that they did not have any mileage program with Southwest. This is not good business practice and cost me 750 miles in the Southwest program.

Room Tip: The room was quit on the 2nd floor but not exceptionally clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very good hotel with friendly and helpful staff. We spent three days exploring the lower coast of Maine and this was a wonderful central location. We were there in late October and unfortunately many of the local restaurants and businesses had already closed for the season, but the staff directed us to places that were open.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

The first thing you notice when you drive up is how the hotel grounds are beautifully
manicured.That's usually a good sign that if you care about the exterior you will care about the interior.

We stayed here for two nights, the room was very clean except for quite a bit of scuff marks on the walls.

The place seemed very busy but was very quiet and we slept just fine.The beds are very comfortable with plenty of fluffy pillows.

We really enjoyed the breakfast on(Oct.27th and 28th) I failed to get the persons name that was in charge of keeping everything full and clean, but I would like to commend her for a great job, she was very attentive to the guests and was always smiling.

Overall a great place to stay and would likely return on my next visit to the Wells area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Nice place with friendly and polite staff. We would stay here again in future visits. Next time we will request a room with fridge and micro wave. The breakfast was good with good selections. Enjoyed the mini western omelet.

Room Tip: Call ahead if you are requesting a fridge and micro wave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Impressed pulling up to this property - clean, neat, well landscaped, ample (and free) parking, nice appointed and open area lobby - the desk staff had smiles on their faces and acknowledged me when I came through the doors! Warm and welcoming, efficient and informative. Ashton is a credit to this property! Lots of sitting areas for those who don't want to stay in their rooms. The pool/spa area was clean and well cared for and open late, nice little fitness center, business center, and sundry shop. The room was big enough and VERY clean and comfortable. When ever a staff member crossed your path, they were open and friendly. Nice location half-way between Kennebunkport and Ogunquit. This is an easy-to-find location central to everything you want to see or do in this area of Maine! I would DEFINITELY return! Thank you for the great service and welcome!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Nice clean room, although it seemed very cramped. We had a king studio suite which included a small sofa and desk - there wasn't much room to move around. Small things that bothered me - the bathroom light switch was on the wall outside of the bathroom, so in the middle of the night when you switched it on, you end up lighting up the whole room. Also there were no towel racks/hooks to hang hand towels next to the sink. Other than that, very enjoyable stay. Great breakfast, as is always the case at Hampton. Staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit

Address: 900 Post Road, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Wells
#6 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, Reservation Counter, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit Hotel Wells
Hampton Inn Wells
Wells Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.