We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Maine vacation value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belle of Maine

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belle of Maine
Save
You added Belle of Maine to your Saves list
1139 Post Road, Wells, ME 04090   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$120 based on 2 people
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Maine vacation value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We've been renting a cottage at the Belle of Maine for over 8 years and keep coming back because it's clean, quiet, and a great value. You can walk to Wells Beach and a quick car ride to Drake's Island Beach. Hosts Jim and Mina Skeats are gracious and helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
18
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

We went there last year and we had a blast !!!
Close to everything by car or you can take the trolley !
Best deal for lunch is the Lobster shop right beside Mike's !!!
Get your self a nice 3 pounder and eat it on the beach !!!

Seriously the place is great the family is amazing and even the dogs comes by to make sure your ok...

not to mention the christmas card they take the time to send you...

Trully great !!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

we have stayed here on and off fo the past 13 years .The place is great all of the cabins have everything you need for a week away at the beac they have a really nice heated jacuzzi and a beautiful pool to end your day at the nearby beach. I love the cabins because they are so homey and they have everything you need you don't need to bring anything, just yourself!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

We have been going to the Bell of Maine for 9 years now and we would not go anywhere else. It is a great place to relax and is close to so much. Jim and Mina are outstanding owners. It is family friendly, so much that our kids(ages 11 and 10) have friends that they look forward to seeing all year long. Yes route 1 can be a bear, but take that in stride and you will have a great time!!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We looked at several other locations on the Rt 1 stretch and were lucky enough to pass just as they were removing the no vacancy sign. We stopped in and were so pleasantly surprised that we're planning on returning again later this year. The owner was as friendly and helpful as could be, and the property was wonderfully maintained. Quite contrary to another review that decried this as a 'tourist hell', we felt a wonderful sense of community, with many families returning to the resort the same time each year because they enjoyed it so well. Twice during the week the owner hosted cookouts for the families staying there, with each family bringing side dishes and desserts to make a great big pot-luck meal.

You can see the beach from the resort, but it IS still about a mile walk. My wife and I walked (why not? it's what we do once we get to the beach anyway) but if you wanted, the trolley stops nearby and will drive you to the beach. Directly across the street is the best seafood restaurant in the Wells-Ogunquit area (Mike's) and about 200 feet up the street is the best doughnut/breakfast shop (Congdon's). After staying here, we won't go to a hotel room again, that's for sure!

If you can, get one of the cottages with the screened-in porch. The mosquitoes come in off the marsh at night, and if you'd like to sit out after dark, you'll appreciate the screening.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west rutland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We always prefer to stay at Belle of Maine if they have cottages available. Location is perfect for us, easy to get to and from our Maine destinations. Always clean, Jim and Mina are very accommodating. I love the little porches, the outdoor hot tub and the friendly people.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hershey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2008

Our first trip to the East Coast and we hit 'GOLD'. We loved our stay at the Belle of Maine. Their beautiful grounds, covenient location, and delightful hosts, Jim & MIna, gave us the vacation of our dreams. Our two children loved the pool, games, and close proximety to the beach. I was really impressed when I received a personal invitation from the 'Belle Family' to join them for a fish fry they were hosting for all their guest. I felt welcomed and treated like family. We've started a new family tradition of joining the Skeats every year. We've booked for next year--come join us! Thank you 'Belle of Maine' for a wonderful family vacation!

Sincerely,
The Boothby Family

  • Liked — Location, Hosts, Atmosphere
  • Disliked — I can't think of one
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.4 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#1 of 27 in Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.4 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#3 of 27 in Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn and Suites
0.7 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
1.9 mi away
Ne'r Beach Motel
Ne'r Beach Motel
#18 of 27 in Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belle of Maine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belle of Maine

Address: 1139 Post Road, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Belle of Maine is family owned and operated and includes housekeeping cottages, motel rooms and 2 room luxury suites, with a beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean beyond. You will enjoy our in-ground heated pool and spa, barbecue / picnic areas, lawn games and playground for the children. We offer an on-site laundry facility and so many enjoy the convenience of the Wells trolley stop at our resort, which connects with neighboring communities from York to Kennebunkport. We are centrally located between the Kittery Outlets and Freeport (home of L.L. Bean). With so much to do, from fishing, boating, shopping, great restaurants, nature trails, whale watching cruises, antique shops, the Ogunquit Playhouse and so much more, there is something for everyone here. We are always here to help you in any way we can. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Belle Of Maine Wells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belle of Maine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.