We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room and comfy bed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tallwood Motel

Save Saved
You added Tallwood Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tallwood Motel
2203 Post Road (US Route 1), Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 27 hotels in Wells
Dallas, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean room and comfy bed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I was on a trip and needed to find a place to spend the night. I found this motel and stayed the night there. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable for me to get a good night sleep. There were some other guests that were making some noise and the manager went and quieted them down rather quickly. Good value with friendly staff. I would stay there again if I had the chance.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    9
    5
    5
    25
See reviews for
14
17
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

The staff was nowhere to be found. Evidently resides upstairs above the front desk. You can hear them, but ignore guests lingering at the desk waiting to check in. Internet connectivity is sporadic. The grounds are pleasant, and the surroundings purely old-fashioned Maine, which is wonderful. But, the staff at this motel is not worth the effort to unpack your luggage. Travel up the road and find better places in either direction on Post Road.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Nasty place stay away i now a couple people that work there and they never got paid still fighting to get there money its a dump the girls work hard to try and clean only with the cheap stuff they have to clean with save your money go some place else. They dont pay there help

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Bridges, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We just needed 2 rooms to sleep in on the way home from vacation, to break up the trip. When we tried to find a hotel, this was one of only two properties that were A) not sold out for the night we needed, and B) under $300 per room/ night. We went with Tallwood Motel in Wells, because the location was really convenient for us. The location is excellent. It's right on Route 1, just off Route 95. Maine Diner, which was recently featured on a tv special, is just down the road from Tallwood and there's tons of cute little antique shops along that stretch of Route 1. The location offers easy access to Kennebunk, Kennebunkport and Wells Beach, all of which are nice little coastal towns. The pool area looked like it would be nice, if it were open. That's about it for positives.

Our problem started when we tried to book our rooms using Booking.com, which we had not used before, but it seemed fine. They listed a "2 bedroom cabin for 4 people" at Tallwood Motel on their site, which we booked. When we looked up the hotel online, we discovered that it's actually a small cottage with a double bed, a twin bed and a bunkbed. We were travelling with all adults and no one was willing to sleep in a bunkbed, so we promptly called the hotel, who still had many rooms left at that point, and explained the situation. The owner said there was nothing he could do, call Booking.com. We called Booking.com and they called the motel and said they booked us 2 separate rooms, 1 with a king bed and 1 with 2 double beds. They sent us an updated confirmation, which said the same.

When we got to the hotel, the reservation they had was for 1 room with 1 double bed, and the owner said they were sold out. After some negotiations, he got us into 1 "upgraded" room with a King bed and another small room with a double bed. The smaller room was about 8x10 feet and really dark. It was a Non Smoking room, however the room REEKED of smoke. I have asthma and I absolutely couldn't breathe in there. The window was open (letting bugs in) and the batteries had been pulled out of the smoke detector. It looked as though the previous tenant was smoking and housekeeping tried to air it out and hoped no one would notice. After some arguing back and forth with the owner, we were given another non-smelly (but still buggy) tiny room.

The "deluxe" room was bigger and decorated in a more attractive way, but it was absolutely filthy. The shower/ tub and air conditioning unit were covered in mildew and the room smelled strongly of mold. The bathroom floor and mirror were filthy and there were cobwebs on the vanity. Behind the dresser we found crumpled paper, a plastic cup and copious amounts of dustbunnies. Ironically, there was a handwritten note on the table from housekeeping, pandering for tips.

The icing on the cake was all of the noise and lights that kept us awake most of the night. There was loud music blaring from the cottages behind us, a train that went behind the hotel several times whistling loudly, and headlights and highway noise throughout the night.

I would never, ever stay at the Tallwood Motel again, nor would I recommend it to anyone. Tallwood looks attractive enough from the outside, but looks can be deceiving. It's outdated, filthy and the service is terrible. As cheap as it was, I still feel like we got robbed!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

I just wanted to clarify, the tital of my review is not 3 stars, it's negative three stars, which may even still be a bit generous. We checked into what was supposedly a non smoking room in the tallwood because it was literally the only room available in the New England area. Looking back I wish I would have slept in the car. The room had an overwhelming cigarette stench, so much for non smoking. They charged $10 dollars for a roll away cot and when it arrived the legs used to support the head and the food of the cot seemed to be broken. I was only able to sleep on it because I was able to tie it together with a bungee cord in a Mcgyver like fashion. Within 10 minutes of laying on the pitiful cot i rolled over in an attempt to find a position that was even remotely comfortable to sleep in and it actually flipped over and dropped me on the ground. The actual bed was no more comfortable than sleeping on a slab of marble. The heater didn't work. We had to kill a slider and a few flies. The bathroom door didn't shut all the way. We tried to go to the office with our complaints but the door was locked as if he knew just how crappy our experience would be, so he didn't want to be around when it was time for people to check out. We tried to contact him via phone and were only able to speak to a voicemail. We left a message expressing just how upset we are and asking them to please call back. As you could imagine we never go a call back. I'm sorry, I know this Is quite a lengthy review but I want everybody to know just how terrible our stay was. I feel as if the Tallwood motel should be forced to pay for a trip to the chiropractor for all three of us. All in all, our stay was just about as pleasant as taking a bath in honey, and running through a swarm of angry wasps.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Reservation was lost.Switched to a cottage without a smoke alarm.Train went by several times at night tooting whistle.We couldn't sleep.No remote to tv.Giving a hard time when asked for another sheet.Owner rude when I called him.

Thanks,Kathy H

Room Tip: Bad Time.No sleep because of train going by and tooting all night long.No Smoke Alarm or tv remote.L...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

When we first arrived at the Tallwood we were greeted by Ralph in his office(the garage attached to main house). We were given #6 across the lot. This was a 2 double bed room for my wife, daughter and myself. Room was very rustic at best. The ceiling was 2 tone white/grey in color. TV was a 19" with cable. Pool had to be filled nightly - by garden hose. Had the basic necessities really.Cons - Low water pressure, lack of towels, outdated rooms- Pros - very clean though. The Motel was within walking distance to the Maine Diner! All in all was a decent place for sleeping after being on the beach all day. Was also within walking distance (short drive 1.7 miles) to Drake Island Beach. Really some of the most beautiful beaches are found right in the area of Wells, ME.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tallwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tallwood Motel

Address: 2203 Post Road (US Route 1), Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 27 hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Tallwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tallwood Hotel Wells
Tallwood Motel Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tallwood Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.