We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Been coming here for years!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites
Save
You added Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites to your Saves list
1404 Post Road, P.O. Box 988, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Been coming here for years!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Best place to stay in Wells area. Good value. Very nice owners. Love you Sally & Bob! Rooms are very clean & nice. Pool can use some work but it is always clean, comfortable temperature, friendly, & welcoming.

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    18
    4
    5
    1
See reviews for
21
21
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pincourt, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a great time in Wells/Ogunquit revisiting the many places that we been to so many times when our two men were kids! What made our stay even more enjoyable was the Carriage House. Sally and her staff do everything they can to help and to ensure that you are happy with your accommodations. We had some specific requirements that were fulfilled without a problem. The room we had was very clean, had everything we needed, we slept well! Carriage House is centrally located within easy reach of the various beaches, Perkins Cove, Kittery (outlets) and Kennebunk. We are planning a return visit for this fall and will stay here again. Thanks Sally for your hospitality!

Room Tip: We stayed in motel room #12 and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriageHouseWells, Owner at Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. We try our best to meet our guests' needs and be a resource to share all of the information on beaches, shops, restaurants, hiking trails, etc our area has to offer. As you commented our central location affords our guests the opportunity to take in a wide variety of interests. We loved having you here at the Carriage House and look forward to your return in the Fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Found listing online 8 years ago. Kids and I having been coming back ever since. Cottages are clean, spacious and well maintained. Lots to do for kids, playground, basket ball,and swimming pool. Jacuzzi for adults. Bob and Sally are always there for whatever is needed, and always with a smile. There is accomodations for all, hotel, motel, cottages. Rte 1 location is great, close to all beaches, restaurants, stores. Look forward to many more stays!!

Patti, Patrick and Erica

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriageHouseWells, Owner at Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us year after year. We have enjoyed your visits as well as watching the kids grow up. Look forward to seeing you again this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Ever since my family stayed at the Carriage House the first time,we do not stay anywhere else.
The owners live on the property and keep it in a wonderful condition,constantly updating the cottages and suites.There's even a Bocce court,basketball,a pool and my favorite-a grill for the week.How great is that!!
We're looking forward to another 2 weeks this Summer.
Agreat place to stay,wonderful owners and the beach.We can't wait!!

Pat Connell-Boston,MA

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriageHouseWells, Owner at Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Each year we look forward to your return visit. You will be back on the beach before you know it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Dale, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

we have been staying at the carriage house for 5 years now, consistently. it is located on rt 1, accessible to grocery shopping and touristy stuff as well as many great places to eat. the beach is only a few miles away,accesible by trolley,which is so much fun for little ones! there is also a beach a wee bit further down as well. we have stayed in the cottages and also the motel suites-both are fantastic! bob and sally are very helpful and friendly, as are all the staff. our granddaughter will not stay anywhere else now!

Room Tip: having only stayed in the cottages/motel suites,there has not been a bad room so far. it is back aw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarriageHouseWells, Owner at Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
We appreciate your kind review of our facilities and look forward to your return this summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Girlfriend get away to Boston and the Maine coast brought us to Wells. My friend is always on a budget for our annual trips, so we picked this lodging facility. The value cannot be beat. Sally and Bob were wonderful hosts with great information on restaurants, getting around, etc. The location was great as it is so close to beaches and quaint little towns along the coast. We were there for four nights and every night was peaceful and quiet. We stayed in cottage #3 which was very clean. The only complaint I would have is that there were no mattress pads on the beds, so you could feel the mattress below and the bathroom was a bit difficult to maneuver around due to where the vanity and towel racks were located. Would definately stay again but might pick one of the motel rooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

Found Sally and Bob's Carriage House Motel on the internet and was very pleased with my experience there. I stayed in a two bedroom 1 1/2 bath cottage with a HUGE backyard and cooking grill with a picnic table. the beds were perfect for me (firm) and the stay was very easy going. everyone left you alone but were there for you if you needed something. This is a relaxed property and is great for someone who just wants a mini home to 'chill' in on vacation. if you want a comfortable,clean friendly place that's located in the heart of town and very near the beaches this is the place for you. I would go back every time I visit Maine. it was perfect for me and my friends. -kurt wieting NYC

Room Tip: I picked cottage 8. there were three of us. two twin beds and a big bed in a master bedroom. living...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites

Address: 1404 Post Road, P.O. Box 988, Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Carriage Hotel Wells
Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Carriage House Motel Cottages & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.