We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room, great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coast Village Inn & Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Coast Village Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   876 Post Road (Route 1), Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice room, great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2009

My husband and I stayed here for one night. We turned up at night, and basically just went to bed, and left early the next morning.

So I don't have a lot to say about this place....except that the staff on check-in seemed very nice and the room was good. The bathroom was a little dated in decor but everything was clean and spacious.

Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    34
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
48
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2009

We stayed for two nights in the main house. Had kitchen, bedroom (two queen beds), den and great outdoor deck.. Upstairs room with king bed, large bath, pillow top matterss.
Great location close to beach, resturants and antique stores. I have been in the Hotel business fo 30 years in ownership of larger properties and loved the way this place is run and its family friendly. Try it you will like it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, ME
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

Won't even bother looking at other options in the future. Close to everything in the Wells/Ogunquit area. Right on Rte. 1, but set back from the road with trees in front so noise is minimal. Simple, but very clean. Beds SUPER comfy. Staff friendly, helpful & accomodating. Waterfall & walking area adjacent. Would be a great place to gather family for a reunion or other event.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2008

My wife and I have been going to Ogunquit/Wells, Maine almost every weekend in the summer for years.
We started staying at Coast Village in the 90's when it was known as the Country Hill Motel. About four years ago it was sold and the name was changed to Coast Village Inn.
The new owners, Megan and Taylor Duffy along with Barbara, the general manager, are all so helpful and accommodating.
The motel itself is well kept and clean. The rooms are neat and the hot water is hot hot.
Price wise the rates are very reasonable, and there is coffee ready every morning.
I would recommend this motel to anyone and everyone.

  • Liked — cleanlinessand friendliness
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

Spent one night at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages in August on the way to vacation in northern Maine. We were in a room in the front motel. Room was small, but very clean. Bed was comfortable. Hosts were friendly. Shower was old with small rust, but appeared very clean. Road noise was noticeable all night long, but not disturbing. Overall, nice convenient place.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — road noise
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, NH
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

We found this Inn on the internet. Quite frankly, we needed a good value because this was not a vacation trip. We found it here.

We got off Interstate 95 onto busy Rt. 1. We knew this Inn was on a busy road so we expected alot of traffic. The Inn was located next to a huge new hotel and across the street from it was a shopping plaza (very convenient for pizza, some shopping and a grocery store). The Inn itself was very nicely kept and was cute.

The front desk person was amazingly nice. It appears this is a family owned business and it shows in the way they greet people and are so helpful. You don't get this in big hotels.

For the value, our room was simple but nice. We took a room in front of the hotel and the traffic sound was muffled. With the air conditioner on, you couldn't hear the noise at night. The room was very clean and we had a microwave and small refrigerator. Everything worked and the tv was nice and big. For the money, I found it to be very acceptable.

The pool area and bbq area in back was pretty. It's obvious they have put some work into this place.

  • Liked — Value. Close to beaches
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

This hotel is great for families, great pool and BBQ area! I had read about the beds so I called ahead and found out that they were replaced. It's about one mile from the beach but right next to a trolley stop that will take you to the beach if you don't want to walk (the kids loved riding the trolley seeing as we're from southern California and are brainwashed to drive everywhere...) It was also nice just to spend a day at the pool and walk around. Bottom line, it's DEFINTIELY a great value.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coast Village Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast Village Inn & Cottages

Address: 876 Post Road (Route 1), Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coast Village Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 3.5 acres of beautifully landscaped property, The Coast Village Inn & Cottages is located in the quaint seaside town of Wells, Maine. A short trolley ride from Wells Beach, we offer a range of accommodations including guest rooms, vacation suites and private cottages. Our beautiful gardens feature a zero entry outdoor pool as well as a picnic and grilling area; the perfect place to gather and relax with your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your The Coast Village Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Hotel Wells
The Coast Village Inn And Cottages
The Coast Village Hotel
The Coast Village Motel
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.