We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Coast Village Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Coast Village Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   876 Post Road (Route 1), Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Staff were very friendly on arrival. Excellent value for money. The room was clean and had everything we required. except perhaps a kettle and coffee/tea making facilities would have been nice.Exactly what we expected. Great place for a stop over.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for your tripadvisor reivew. One way we keep our rates low is to 'combine our efforts'. Rather than placing coffee/tea pots in all rooms, we offer complimentary coffee, tea and hot cocoa in the lobby during morning hours. Some of our accommodations (housekeeping cottages and most suites do have full kitchen facilities ... including coffee/tea pots :-) Thank you for choosing to stay with us when travelling through Wells, Maine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    34
    17
    9
    3
See reviews for
48
50
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashua, New Hampshire
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Very clean was the first thing we noticed. People were very friendly and knowledgeable. Close to eneything you could want, or need. We did some antique shopping, some beach time, eating, and even a movie. We found a Flea Market in Arrundel, which is not a far ride, and that was
a great time. Lots of friendly people and treasures.

We have allready talked about a return trip.

Room Tip: Higher floor was perfect. We stayed in # 29, and it was just right.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us on tripadvisor. It is nice for our housekeeping staff to hear when guests take notice and appreciate the cleanliness of our rooms. Nice to know that hard work pays off. Wells, Maine is certainly a great place to visit spring, summer or fall. We are open until October 20th and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

My son had a golf tournament at Old Marsh CC in Wells. It only 4 files from Coast Village Inn and Cottages to Old Marsh CC. We stayed for 2 nights, it was nice and quiet and relaxing. The place was very clean and neat.The rates are very affordable comparing other hotels nearby. The owners were very friendly and were there if you needed anything. This place is also close to a lot of restaurants , stores. and beach's. We definitely will go back

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
As new owners to The Coast Village Inn, it is music to our ears to here "We definitely will go back." We appreciate you taking time to let other families know of our convenient location within Wells, Maine. Nestled between both Kennebunk and Ogunquit gives our guests and even larger 'playing field.' We hope your son enjoyed his time playing golf at Old Marsh CC. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury Nh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights, it was nice and quiet and relaxing. This place was very clean and neat.The rates are very affordable.
The owners were very nice and were there if you needed anything. This place is close to a lot of restaurants , stores. and beach's. Perkins Cove is just down the road. We will become regular visitors there. Also our Chesapeake Bay Retriever "Tucker" had a great time as the grounds are beautiful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John and Cynthi... P, Owner at The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
One of the main attractions in deciding to purchase The Coast Village Inn in Wells, Maine was the fact that it offers such a beautiful landscape. There is plenty of inviting, outdoor space behind our accommodations for our guests to relax and unwind. It's not something you can see from the road; but it's our best kept secret! We do have some rooms which are 'pet friendly' so for guests looking to travel with ALL their loved one's - this might be the right fit for them. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

This Inn is classic Maine. The ambiance is great, very relaxing. The rooms are cute. We look forward to booking a cottage for the family next summer. Great location! My husband and I enjoy antique shopping and there are several unique shoppes within walking distance of the Inn. Lastly the Inn is affordable, clean and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed one night in one of the rooms this past weekend. The price? INCREDIBLE! The room was very clean, and not at all cramped (which I expected because of the price). Check in was pleasant and easy, and the location was great for us (we wanted to be an easy drive from Ogunquit). Coffee in the lobby was fresh and hot at 6:30 am, and was half way decent. And the WiFi signal was strong. Grounds were pretty, and well maintained.

The only negative? The bathroom. It really could use an update. The sink was 70's pink. No regulator on the shower so water temps were inconsistent, and the spray was one of those 70's mists as well. The toilet stuck when I flushed (more than once) and I had to open the tank to jiggle it back into working order. I'd still stay here again, because of the rates and cleanliness, but I do hope a little modernization is in the plans for the bathrooms.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield County Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay here after reading the good revues. We were on a very tight budget so we were a little nervous at the price.. It seemed too low for what they offered and the location. They are just a mile or so from the beach and there is a Hannaford supermarket just across the Post Rd.
The room we first stayed in was in the front building but it wasn’t like it was right on the road.. you don’t really hear the traffic going by unless the window is open and even then it wasn’t bad. The room was Bigger than we feared, clean and has a large mini fridge and microwave. We decided to stay an extra day but that room was booked so they set us up in another room for the extra night.. this room was bigger in the back building and it was also very clean.. They can easily charge 50% more for the rooms and still be good value!
The owners are so nice and helpful and the staff was equally nice and helpful.
We have stayed in some very expensive (>$300) places in the past and yes they have nicer drapes and furniture, but if you need a super nice place to sleep this is the place to stay.
We will be coming back next year and if the reservation link let us book the room we would do it today..

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Coast Village Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Coast Village Inn & Cottages

Address: 876 Post Road (Route 1), Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Coast Village Inn & Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 3.5 acres of beautifully landscaped property, The Coast Village Inn & Cottages is located in the quaint seaside town of Wells, Maine. A short trolley ride from Wells Beach, we offer a range of accommodations including guest rooms, vacation suites and private cottages. Our beautiful gardens feature a zero entry outdoor pool as well as a picnic and grilling area; the perfect place to gather and relax with your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Coast Village Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coast Village Inn And Cottages
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Hotel Wells
The Coast Village Hotel
The Coast Village Motel
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Coast Village Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.