We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in a nice area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages to your Saves list
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
203 Post Rd, U.S. Route 1, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a nice area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Found the hotel by accident, and only stayed one night but will go back on purpose when I am in the area. Hotel was clean, convenient and the staff was very nice. Breakfast was good as was the wifi. A lucky find.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter P, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank You for your review. we are happy that you found us, and even happier that you plan on returning! We are fortunate to have many guest returning and recommending friends, that for us is the best advertising Thank you again, peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    41
    8
    0
    0
See reviews for
64
71
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elmira, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here last year by accident and went back again this year. Neat, clean, reasonably priced. Breakfast was very nice. They've renovated their kitchen lobby area and it's beautiful. You can use grills, smokers, kettles, etc to cook your own food. The pool is only solar heated so it wasn't warm enough for us, but some folks were brave. We stayed 4 nights and enjoyed it very much!

Room Tip: One side has steps to the rooms so if you're not sure on your feet you may want to ask for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Than you for your kind words. We are always happy to greet returning guests. We are happy that you liked the remodel. We do heat the pool with Solar and Propane from mid-june until mid-september, and then solar completely until closing. During late september it is about 75, not quite the 84 it averaged this summer thought :-).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My wife always says older motels have stinky rooms! This is an older motel but no stinky rooms VERY CLEAN !! NICE ROOMS.My wife could not stop talking about all the great things this place offered .Pool, beautiful landscaped grounds,good FREE!! breakfast,friendly helpful staff,Did I mention the clean rooms ?? That needs repeating.!! Very comfortable beds,we both slept well.We will certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: ROOM 8 was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your review. We, and our staff, are very conscious about the cleanliness of our rooms. We appreciate that you would stay with us again. As much as we enjoy meeting new guests, our repeat guests are our best advertising! Thank you again, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Fairfield, Maine
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay the help will go way out of their way to help with directions where to find the best food you name it and they will help.
Even with the resort next to the road the rooms are well keep and quite. The only down fall was the guest smoking beside the door the smoke comes in the windows and doors of your room.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms are fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are happy that you enjoyed your stay. and also that our staff was able to help you with directions and the best places to dine. We try to stay up on all the local happenings and the changes in the local eateries, and will always be able to recommend a good mix of Maine dining options. We are sorry about the other guest cigarette smoke bothering you. We try to fix those things that we have control over, and minimize those that we don't.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

1st time staying here on August 25/26th, 2012. Was very nice, clean and convenient to the trolley pick-up. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Only negative thing was that there was a family in the room next to us where the kid(s) were running up and down from 8pm to 10pm and then at it again at on Sunday morning at 5am until we left our room at 9:30am. Therefore did not sleep very well. A little pricey for what you get for the price, but it was a last minute reservation and we were able to get a room at a lower rate. Overall a pretty nice place to stay. We did not use the pool but it looked clean and had a few people in it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. We do try to offer a good mix of amenities and fair pricing. I do wish that we had known about the noise issue while you were still here. We could have either moved your room, or spoken to the other guest to see what we could do to make your stay more pleasant. While we are usually told how quite our Inn is, we do appreciate what you are saying. We are planning to change somethings this fall that may help with any similar instances. Thank you for letting us know, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

we were very disappointed about this place. Rooms were clean but in need of new bed coverings, pool was small but very clean and closed very early, breakfast was disappointing, . bought pastries from a box store, a selection of breads for toast, fresh fruit, andbaked beans..........?
we would not stay here again. the staff was friendly and couldn't have been nicer but the rooms were depressing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed. We do strive to keep all our rooms clean as you mentioned. And we do have rooms in different price ranges, a basic , more budget oriented, and our newer, deluxe rooms. I am also sorry that you did not enjoy your breakfast as much as everyone else, we do bake a lot of , but not all, or our pastries. We do get baked goods delivered many times a week. And the baked beans, well if you were brave and tried them you might be a convert. They are very sweet, maple and molasses, and some other flavors. We serve about 15 to 20lbs a day during July and August, but agreed they might not be for everyone :-). Thank you again for your review, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmar, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have stayed at this attractive/friendly place over the past few years, having migrated from the more expensive Ogunquit area where I stayed periodically over the past decade. The rooms were clean and well taken care of; the stafff was more than hospitable and accomodating. It is located within 5 minutes of both the Wells and Ogunquit beaches and on the Trolley line. There are many dining options close by, anf the nore than satisfying breakfast is a bonus money-saver. I heartily recommend it!! (P>S>- There's a reat Ice Cream stand next door!!!).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peterMaine, Owner at Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Inn. We are happy that you found us clean and comfortable, over some of the more expensive properties, and that you enjoyed our picnic breakfast. We try to offer a better value to our guests, knowing that there are many places to chose from! Thank you again, Peter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
2.7 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#1 of 27 in Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
0.4 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#3 of 27 in Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Coast Village Inn & Cottages
0.3 mi away
Majestic Regency
Majestic Regency
#19 of 27 in Wells
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages

Address: 203 Post Rd, U.S. Route 1, Wells, ME 04090
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our casual, family oriented Beach & Breakfast Resort Motel. The Wells-Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages is located 3/4 of a mile from Ogunquit's Moody Beach, 1.75 Miles from Wells Beach. All rooms include a refrigerator, microwave, Coffee Maker, in room coffee. We offer our guests an assortment of updated unique amenities in a family style, relaxed atmosphere. Our affordable rates, along with our Delicious Complimentary Maine Picnic Breakfast Buffet, Outdoor Heated Salt Water Pool and BBQ cooking/dining area allow our guests to maximize their vacationing dollars. We are centrally located near 4 Beaches, Lighthouses, Lobster Pounds, Restaurants, mini-golf, Antiques, Boutiques and Outlet shopping in Kittery & Freeport. Minutes from Ogunquit Playhouse, Golf Courses, York & Kennebunkport Maine. Mention TripAdvisor save $5.00 Off your total reservation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Wells - Ogunquit Hotel Moody
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.