We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beyond Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maine Diner

Maine Diner
2265 Post Road, Route 1, Wells, ME 04090
207-646-4441
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Takeout
Latta, South Carolina, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beyond Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This was the only restaurant I wanted come to during my trip to Maine due to it being featured on Diners, Drive -Ins and Dives. I had a lobster roll and the seafood chowder. It was indeed beyond amazing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    304
    155
    50
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's a diner!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Food is good ! But it's just a diner with overpriced items! It's all a hype because of the diners drive ins and dives dude ate there!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Meat Loaf is real good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Had the Meatloaf special of the day. Large portion reasonably priced. We have been there many times, always with a good experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lobster Roll Done Right!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We stopped for lunch on Wednesday, May 15th at about noon. We were seated and found the staff to be exceptional; very friendly, helpful, and efficient. We ordered the cold lobster roll and completely enjoyed it. The bun was overflowing with lobster and you actually tasted lobster, not gobs of mayo. The lobster was very tender and moist; just perfect. The slaw that accompanied the roll was also very well done and tasty. The only disappointing thing was the lemonade; but, I haven't had a good lemonade yet in a Portland area restaurant....seems to have an after taste that's not lemonade, next time I'll get tea. I'd gladly recommend the Maine Diner.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamarac,FL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Seafood delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My wife and I and some friends visited the Maine Diner for dinner.
We ordered four seafood dinners and shared. The seafood chowder, lobster pie, lobster roll and stuffed shrimp. Every one of them was outstanding. If you visit the diner you must try the seafood chowder. It was filled with fresh seafood , the taste was amazing.
We can't wait for our next visit to Wells so we can stop by the Maine Diner again...

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Diner also viewed

 

Been to Maine Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maine Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.