We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5-Star Diner Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maine Diner

Maine Diner
2265 Post Road, Route 1, Wells, ME 04090
207-646-4441
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 62 Restaurants in Wells
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Diner, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“5-Star Diner Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Friendly waitresses and a menu that will leave you dizzy. Award winning seafood chowder that is an absolute MUST. I had the cod cakes benedict. The cakes were crisp and flavorful and the hollandaise sauce was some of the best I have ever had. Too full for dessert but man did they ever tempt me to keep eating.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    283
    153
    49
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cavendish, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Main Dinah”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I managed to fit a trip to the Maine Diner into my day planna because as the "Earl of Cavendish, VT" I have a lot goin' on. You bet you boots they had fresh seafood, but it was a little too fresh for me. I like it to be left out for a few days and dried like salt cod. I especially like my lobstah like that. If you want some nice dried seafood, you'll have better luck walking on the beach and picking up dried pieces of clams and crabs.


Patrick Gray, "Earl of Cavendish, VT"

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“lunch at the Diner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My friend L and I had lunch at the Maine Diner yesterday. The Maine Diner is a must visit when you come to Maine. The food, prices and service are all first class for down home food and a taste of the congeniality of Maine people.
I had one of the specials of the day, Shepard's Pie and L had the super breakfast. Clean plates sad it all as to the quality of the food.
As always, the Maine Diner is a must!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Maine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Usually very busy, but well worth the wait. Their breakfasts are "famous" - I always get the pancakes and eat too much but they are s.o.o. good. Gift shop next door-good selections-Maine Diner sweathsirts my adult kids loved.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Go for the blueberry pancakes!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We were recommended to this diner by friends, and it didnt disappoint. We loved it and went twice on our mini-vacation to wells, Me. I had the blueberry pancakes, which were great and my husband had eggs and all the fix-ins. It was wonderful and the new england coffee was so good we lingered for several cups. Great way to start our morning in beautiful Maine!! Its really a great down-home atmosphere and super friendly staff. Don't miss this gem!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maine Diner also viewed

 

Been to Maine Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maine Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.