We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Central Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Nautical Mile Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Nautical Mile Resort to your Saves list
Nautical Mile Resort
1072 Post Road, Wells, ME 04090   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good Central Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Although a bit tired and very basic as suites go (the kitchenette doubles as the dining room which doubles as the living room which doubles as a second bedroom with a fold out couch) this is a perfectly adequate place to sleep while touring south coastal Maine, especially if the price is right. Resort? I'm not so sure. There are tennis courts and a pool, although in April they are not really an issue. Again, if the price is right and your vacation is centered around touring rather than sitting by the pool or on the beach, this would be a fine choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    5
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Our first clue that we had a problem was that this location was the room available during the month of Sept or October. The location was perfect for day trips, but that was the only plus. The room was so cramped we had to store our travel bags in the car. The spread on the bed had such a bad oder we put it out on the porch. House keeping did replace it. I misplaced a shoe and had to crawl under the bed to retrive.............it had been weeks since it had been cleaned. I plan on filing a complaint with our exchange company. There is no way this place should be considered for the owners of Timeshares. This should not be considered as a destination, but a hotel of last resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Nautical Mile resort is located approx 1.5 to 2 hours drive north of Boston in a town called Wells.

The resort is a horseshoe shape off the main road, with tennis courts in the middle. It has a reception that is open till 5pm each night apart from Fridays for check ins. There is also a laundry room. The accommodation is over two floors with open wooden stairs up to the first floor. We stopped in a one bed unit which was on the first floor, and it had wi-fi, a small kitchen , sofa bed, table, chairs and tv. The kitchen had cooker, toaster, microwave and dishwasher. There was a separate bedroom and a bathroom. Not recommended for more than 2 people due to the size.

The resort is near the beaches of the area and also near the nice villages of Ogunquit, and Kennebunkport. We went to the outlet malls at Kittery and at Freeport. We drove up to Brunswick to get on the train to Rockland, and we also drove down to Gloucester to go on the 7 seas whale watch where we managed to see quite a number of humpback whales, fin whales and dolphins.

There are plenty of good places to eat around the area and a large Hannafords supermarket across the road.

A nice place to be based to get to visit lots of things in the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
163 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

The place is well maintained and the staff is courteous and willing to help. The pool area is large and clean...the week we stayed the water was green but they worked hard at restoring it and by Thursday the green was gone. It is convenient to local restaurants, the beach and other sites

Room Tip: I like the rooms on the far right of the building..as u look at it from Congdons
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CENTRAL MASSACHUSETTS
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed in unit 134 on the backside of the property (and VERY convenient to Congdon's!). The unit was very clean and well stocked. The location is so convenient to many popular destinations, restaurants and beaches. There is a Hannafords just 2 minutes down the road that was very well staffed and stocked also.
The staff at The Nautical Mile is extremely friendly.
We are hoping to return very soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

It was well maintained-service was excellant-the help was friendly and more than willing to accommodate any request we asked.The unit ,townhouse(2 bedrooms) was clean,updated and comfortable. We picked the wrong week ,weather wise lol (the previous wk broke records for March) but we had plenty of heat in spite of the temps.We will definitely make this one of our favorite places to return and would recommend it to all our family and friends ( 4 different families visited us while we were there and they were all impressed with it's accommodations) The only thing I would recommend that they add to the units is-glass bakeware for a casserole- a 11x17 pan and an extra frying pan as I found it limited to cook breakfast with just one frying pan. We had a very enjoyable week there!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wi
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

OK so they said we were lucky to rent the big townhouses. Yes ,they were clean but owners need to pony up and replace big box TV's, provide more air-conditioning for 2nd & 3rd floor.We also had to turn off air so we could talk... Our stay was HOT!!! We also rented a 1 bedroom unit . Bad bed & TV review . We will probably not be back. We are'nt fussy people but need comfortable nights so we can enjoy our vaca. PLEASE upgrade your units .
No cell service in units(weird!) And spotty to no internet.

Your location is great,staff is wonderful, pool area top-notch, lovely grounds,grill/picnic area, horseshoes!! But who wants to pay for a terrible nights sleep?

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wells
0.6 mi away
Elmwood Resort Hotel
Elmwood Resort Hotel
#1 of 27 in Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
2.0 mi away
Wells - Ogunquit Resort Motel & Cottages
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Wells-Ogunquit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Ogunquit River Inn and Suites
4.3 mi away
The Anchorage By the Sea
The Anchorage By the Sea
#19 of 38 in Ogunquit
4.0 of 5 stars 742 reviews
0.7 mi away
Village by the Sea
Village by the Sea
#3 of 27 in Wells
4.5 of 5 stars 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nautical Mile Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nautical Mile Resort

Address: 1072 Post Road, Wells, ME 04090
Location: United States > Maine > Wells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 27 Hotels in Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All suite condominium resort just 1 "Nautical Mile" from beautiful Wells Beach, Maine. Spacious, air conditioned one or two bedroom suites with a full kitchen, dining area and scenic views of the marshlands and ocean beyond. Resort Amenities include outdoor pool, hot tub, pool deck, exercise room, grills, picnic tables and more. Free WiFi & Local and continental US Free calling. On trolley route. Open year round with many off-season specials available. Situated midway between popular Ogunquit and Kennebunkport. Enjoy nearby whale watching, lobster tours, fishing trips and shopping in the numerous antique shops, art galleries and unique boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Nautical Mile Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nautical Mile Hotel Wells
Nautical Mile Resort Wells, Maine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nautical Mile Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.